Ratings based on 1,404 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Beautiful resort

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Great room with garden and ocean views from the lanai. Our king bed was incredibly comfortable. Hotel service was above standard, with only a couple staff members a bit stand-offish during the week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Beautiful and relaxing hotel. Enjoyed swimming in the ocean and the pool. The orchid restaurant was great as well as the luau. Very clean room. Everyone was friendly. Would love to visit again. Nighttime was very romantic to walk around or sit by the ocean. Peaceful place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, Hotel Management
Thank you so much!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with large pool

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Very nice pool beach and location. The only complaint is the staff and service at the breakfast bar. They are extremely slow and very rude. Plan on waiting 30 min to be seated and another 20 before a server comes by your table to take your order. Buffet doesn't even have an omelet station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for your candid feedback, while we are disappointed to hear you weren't happy with the lack of the omelet station, we hope you were able to enjoy the crepe station. Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The private snorkeling cove is worth the price

Posted Jun 25, 2017
I've always liked fairmonts so we booked this hotel when 4 seasons was full. It ended up being for the best as this hotel has a sheltered cove with excellent snorkeling. My 10 and 12 year old sons were in heaven. Highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii , Hotel Management
Thank you so much!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IL

Wonderful Hotel, Amazing Staff

Posted May 30, 2017
Gorgeous facility, wonderful beach, amazing staff, not overcrowded, great Mai Tais.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, Hotel Management
Thank you Mandy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This is an exceptional hotel!

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: We stayed in 2 different rooms as we were at the Volcano House between stays. The last night the iron didn't work and the shower drain did not work.
The staff was wonderful. The hotel was beautiful. Our room was beautiful. The setting and landscaping were beautiful. The room rate is high, but worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, Hotel Management
Aloha- Thank you for your candid feedback, we appreciate it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

BEST RESORT ON THE BIG ISLAND

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: The service, the grounds, the cove, pretty much everything
Cons: Nothing, don't change anything. If it ain't broke, don't fix it.
Location: There's a couple sandy beaches nearby. Shopping/restaurants really close by. But it's also perfectly far away enough from the city and airport
From the moment you arrive you are treated like a king/queen. Any issue or request you have are taken care of like you're the only one there. The service is second-to-none and the grounds and landscaping are stunning. We will not stay anywhere else on the Big Island, Fairmont Orchid is where you want to be!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, Hotel Management
Thank you so much George!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Must stay!

Posted May 2, 2017
Beautiful views. Wonderful customer service. Fantastic amenities. Right on the water. Delicious food. Amazing spa experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, Hotel Management
Thank you Lisa! This made our day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice upscale hotel that's starting to show its age

Posted Apr 28, 2017
The staff, beach, spa, pool, and grounds all shine. The rooms however are starting to show their age. Our sink gurgled and backed up (maintenance was awesome and fixed it within 20-30 minutes), the hard wired night light in the bathroom worked sporadically, the caulk around the sink and where the floor tiles meets the base tiles needs some love, the shower stall is small, the tub doesn't invite a long soak, and the frame around the mirror in the main hotel room is made of a material that deeply collects dust (it looked cobwebby if you looked close so don't! I'd hate to try and clean that frame). It is a great property, with exceptional staff, that is looking for a light face lift in the rooms to match the quality of the rest of the property.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, Hotel Management
Aloha Chris, Mahalo for taking the time to share your feedback, please accept our apologies for the condition of your room, we will most definitely look into it with the appropriate teams. Mahalo.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Clemente CA

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: The garden and all around the premises are very pleasant
Our room is on the side of the hotel that had no internet or erratic reception. I called the front several times during stay, The management did not resolve it until the last day that they offered a room on the upper floor. It was little too late. My e-mail accounts on my laptop crashed and I had to rebuild them one by one. I strongly believe that the management has known this issue for lower floor rooms. I suggest the hotel needs to make sure the issue is fixed before more guests are checked in. Internet was built into the $25 daily resort fee as it stated on the check-in pamphlet. Comparable hotels like Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons, Mandarin Oriental and Peninsular that I stayed before at their International sites do not charge extra for internet. This is the first time I stayed at Fairmont chain hotel. I had the impression this hotel was on the same level as the hotels I mentioned above. Before it is, I think it needs a lot of improvement before it can match up, for starter, hotel staff do not greet their guests on the hallways or along the garden paths or in the valet or concierge area, A couple of time I felt I was unwelcome. The shower stall is so small that I had hard time to move around considering I am an average size person. My bed definitely needs to be replaced, so soft from years of use and heard squeaking springs. Also the tile floor takes up most of the room space is aging.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, Hotel Management
Mahalo for your candid feedback Matthew. Should you wish to discuss your concerns further, please contact us directly.