Ratings based on 2,379 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing in paradise

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Had a wonderful stay. Rooms are beautifully set out, fantastic and comfortable bed. Lovely sized updated bathroom. Pool area is stunning, as is the outlook really enjoyed our stay thank you!! Rating numbers above won't work so overall and hotel staff rating 4, hotel facilities 3 but currently being renovated room cleanliness and comfort 5
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Good hotel on a fun beach, close to the action

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Pool, beach, location
Cons: Great pool, poor waterslide.
Location: Great location in Waikaloa. Walking distance to shops, restaurants - try the Lava Lava Beach Club. Great beach.
A good to great hotel. We had one of the newly renovated rooms which was really nice. Once they are done all the improvements this place will be great. Beach is fun, pool is great (needs more umbrellas however). Nice staff. Close to everything in Waikoloa (walking). Better than the Hilton, not as nice as the Orchid.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Major construction in hotel sucked!!!

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Great staff (friendly and helpful) and not many other guests to compete with.
Cons: Let us know if we are going to be sharing the hotel with a major construction project.
Location: Lots to do and see, the Big Island is the best.
We love the Waikoloa Marriott. It was our 3rd visit, but it was pretty hard to enjoy with all the construction at he hotel going on all around us. Tha only redeeming fact is with so much construction going on, the occupancy was down and so the pools were pretty vacant of guests. No compensation or considerations offered to us for having to put u with all this noise and mayhem during the day. Both disappointed and disgusted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just okay

Posted Apr 5, 2017
There was an event at the beach during our stay with loud music and a extra loud announcer. If we knew this event was happening during our stay we would have chosen a different hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Under Renovation

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Lots of beach chairs available and nobody at the pools.
Cons: Expedia should state that this hotel is undergoing a heavy renovation.
Location: Waikoloa is a great place to stay and there are lots of little shops nearby from food and medium to upper class shopping.
I wasn't warned that the resort was under renovation. There was lots of dust and noise during our stay. The only good thing was that there were less than 50% less of the resort occupied. All of one building was completely closed and several floors in the other building being renovated. Only one of the cafe's were open and the coffee shop was closed. There were bugs in the rooms and mice in the gym (I imagine that they were being displaced with the construction going on. Anyways, unless you plan on spending no time at the hotel then might be okay for overnight stay but definitely not a resort at the moment. Avoid Marriott Vacation Club at all costs. It is high pressure sales even though they say otherwise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, canada

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Our room is on the six floor looking at the pool and beach area there was some construction still going on which is OK because that left the hotel only a 25% occupied so left us with great service ,great pool service,and quieter over all .snorkelling is good only if you go early in the morningBring water shoes as the coral have sea urchins overall great experience I would go back with familywe also did hula dancing lessons lai making and the luau also all at the hotel I do recommend doing the orientation gives you some good insights
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL

Not worth the cost

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Dirty linens in bathroom. Had to listen to the elevator the whole time. Newly renovated room provided no bathroom privacy. I love Marriotts but this was not a great experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Didn't even stay

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Booked this hotel back in January and was very excited to stay here until I recently lost my job therefore I had to cancel my trip. I contacted the hotel to delete my reservation and the friendly staff obliged to and return my money..unfortunately their 'accounting department' will not return money nor calls and emails.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Construction

Posted Mar 2, 2017
There is construction going on at the hotel during the day. If I had known I would have changed rooms or not booked there. It was so loud you couldn't even talk in your room during the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Wonderful Island vacation

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location and it has a beach
Cons: ongoing construction.. This really was a non issue for us as they limit work to certain hours and none on weekends.
Location: Dining, beach, shopping, volcanos
My husband and I honeymooned here 15 years ago when it was previously named the Outrigger Hotel. We wanted to take our daughters to one of our favorite places to travel to and I'm sad that it took us this long to get back. We looked into staying at the Hilton property next door and knew after reading reviews and how crazy busy that place is that it would not be for us. We did go there for a half day to do the dolphin excursion they offer and then immediately went back to the Marriott. Other then the ongoing construction (which we knew about before booking) taking place which I understand will be done this year, there is not a negative thing I have to say about this hotel. The location, staff, cleanliness and simple fact it has a beach are the reasons why we would return to this hotel.