Ratings based on 2,393 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2017
Cons: It would be nice if this property had a bar in the pool area.
A very nice property. The entire staff was friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Awesome location; check renovation schedule

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: The location - beach, Hawaiian fish pond
Cons: The decor and restaurant options. Also be sure to add $30 onto the room rate for the resort fee.
Location: The very nearby King and Queen malls give you access to restaurants and a couple of great general stores
This resort has a great pool area and direct access to the beach. The cove is tranquil and you can see fish jumping in the water (good for easy snorkeling). The freshwater pools/Hawaiian fish ponds on the grounds make this a very unique and dynamic location. Our room had been updated; and the bed was extremely comfortable. Only challenge is that there is not much in the way of restaurants (we didn't eat there because of this - and there are walkable options in the malls adjacent - but it looked a make-shift conference area was supposed to be the restaurant? No coffee bar really...). The lobby area was under renovation so was very sparse and not very "Hawaii" feeling...honestly the furnishings looked like the Scratch-and-Dent section of IKEA. There were signs saying that a big renovation was in the works - so I would recommend not staying here until after that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Best kept secret!!

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: The infinity pool and natural volcanic landscaping
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Two very nice and very different shopping centers within walking distance
Blown away by the beauty, service and comfort of this resort!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Nice swimming pool;
Cons: See "Write about your experience" above. Buffet dinner over-priced! They were not very clear about internet charges.
The hotel was nice and comfortable. However, we listened to a presentation by Marriott at the recommendation of Expedia, in exchange for coupons for restaurants, etc. The talk turned out to be quite unpleasant and high pressure. When we were reluctant to purchase a Marriott points program (basically a time-share) a second person was brought in to present costs, etc. At one point when I said I wasn't prepared to make such a financial decision when I was on vacation, I was asked "Well, what kind of car do you drive?" The ended it. Very unpleasant. Not worth the coupons. Never again will I endure such promotional talk. This isn't a criticism of Expedia but rather Marriott. We did listen to an Expedia talk (and bought a couple of adventure packages) and it was very helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted May 2, 2017
Nice hotel close to beach ,restaurants and shopping . Good pool for kids. Staff has excellent customer service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing in paradise

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Had a wonderful stay. Rooms are beautifully set out, fantastic and comfortable bed. Lovely sized updated bathroom. Pool area is stunning, as is the outlook really enjoyed our stay thank you!! Rating numbers above won't work so overall and hotel staff rating 4, hotel facilities 3 but currently being renovated room cleanliness and comfort 5
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Good hotel on a fun beach, close to the action

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Pool, beach, location
Cons: Great pool, poor waterslide.
Location: Great location in Waikaloa. Walking distance to shops, restaurants - try the Lava Lava Beach Club. Great beach.
A good to great hotel. We had one of the newly renovated rooms which was really nice. Once they are done all the improvements this place will be great. Beach is fun, pool is great (needs more umbrellas however). Nice staff. Close to everything in Waikoloa (walking). Better than the Hilton, not as nice as the Orchid.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Major construction in hotel sucked!!!

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Great staff (friendly and helpful) and not many other guests to compete with.
Cons: Let us know if we are going to be sharing the hotel with a major construction project.
Location: Lots to do and see, the Big Island is the best.
We love the Waikoloa Marriott. It was our 3rd visit, but it was pretty hard to enjoy with all the construction at he hotel going on all around us. Tha only redeeming fact is with so much construction going on, the occupancy was down and so the pools were pretty vacant of guests. No compensation or considerations offered to us for having to put u with all this noise and mayhem during the day. Both disappointed and disgusted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just okay

Posted Apr 5, 2017
There was an event at the beach during our stay with loud music and a extra loud announcer. If we knew this event was happening during our stay we would have chosen a different hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Under Renovation

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Lots of beach chairs available and nobody at the pools.
Cons: Expedia should state that this hotel is undergoing a heavy renovation.
Location: Waikoloa is a great place to stay and there are lots of little shops nearby from food and medium to upper class shopping.
I wasn't warned that the resort was under renovation. There was lots of dust and noise during our stay. The only good thing was that there were less than 50% less of the resort occupied. All of one building was completely closed and several floors in the other building being renovated. Only one of the cafe's were open and the coffee shop was closed. There were bugs in the rooms and mice in the gym (I imagine that they were being displaced with the construction going on. Anyways, unless you plan on spending no time at the hotel then might be okay for overnight stay but definitely not a resort at the moment. Avoid Marriott Vacation Club at all costs. It is high pressure sales even though they say otherwise.