Ratings based on 272 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northern BC, Canada

nice place

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: good location, nice landscaping, quite private & well-laid out
Cons: better pest control (a few cockroaches and huge spider made an appearance, and we were on the top floor). No housekeeping until we asked
Location: rent a car. shops are within walking distance, but main road is very busy. No decent beaches in walking distance (but not unusual for the big island)
nice place, not far from downtown Kailua-Kona shops. condo was generally clean and well-equipped, but a few things didn't work (ice maker, tub jets, porch light) and were not fixed during our 10 night stay. grounds were clean & well kept. pools a bit small but never crowded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Hotel close to the beach and great diners.

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The villas are well-maintained.
Cons: Lighting in the rooms. Pest control. I found a cockroach in the living room.
It is clean and cozy; I love the landscaping. Staff are nice and accommodating.
5 out of 5
by Thomas

Wonderful

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
Great stay with very nice and responsive staff
5 out of 5
by Thomas

Very nice condo close to recreation, restaurants.

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
Close to beaches, shopping and restaurants. The two bedroom condo was perfect for the four of us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Orbitz
Wonderful facility for six people to stay comfortably
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

It's a nice place for a family to stay.

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: Quiet place. Love the local Mongoose that scurry around the grounds. They are afraid of you.
Cons: New furniture and carpet.
Location: 3/4 of a mile are shops and restaurants. two pools on property.
Use the Expedia agent at the front desk area for good prices on outing available. There are a lot of options for a good time. All ages, all physical levels, and your desire to explore.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dayton, NV

Condition Of Room

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: It was old, but very nice. New furnishings had been installed, & new double-paned windows. The bed was comfortable, as were the pillows. Great patio!
Cons: CLEAN THE SHOWERS!!!!
Location: We've been to the Kona Coast many times, and always enjoy it. The big island is so interesting! We used to own a time share at the Kona Coast Resort.
The room, itself, was very clean. However, the dryer vent was totally FULL OF LINT!! - a real fire hazard! The removable vent had been cleaned, but where that vent filter goes was HORRIBLY caked with lint. My husband used his pocket knife to remove the screws and we were able to clean it out as best we could. The lint was about 1/2" thick through the entire area; just awful, and we really don't know why the dryer even continued to operate. As said above, a terrible fire hazard!! Our major dissatisfaction, though, was in the condition of the two showers. They are in extremely bad condition, with black mold everywhere! A thorough cleaning with a chlorine product would take care of the mold, we feel sure, and it was really creepy to use the showers. We left the doors open afterwards, so there would be airflow into them when wet. If one looks up at the top of the shower, you can see the grey grout - from when the tile was originally installed. Again, they need a thorough cleaning with a chlorine product! We feel that they have been neglected for a very long time. Also, the drain cover in the master bathroom is not screwed down, and it came up while Mrs. Austen was showering and inflicted a blood blister on her big toe. Seems unreasonable that the cover had not been screwed down.......
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
Got the bottom unit with people walking on top of our head late night and early mornings. Other than that it was perfect.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fayetteville, United States of America

Hotel pushing timeshare

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: The rooms were large so could be good for families
Cons: Stop pushing timeshare and excursions. Let guests decide if they want help or are interested in ownership. Pool area needs modernization
Location: Town was walkable. Restaurants close by. Beaches you would want to visit are at least 20 minute drive or more.
In short, they want to sell timeshare and excursions. The hotel is near town but beaches are a drive unless you want a beach with homeless people. If you are not an owner then expect an average room in an area that is not ideal. It's a dated resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hilo, Hawaii

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Our family enjoyed our stay, the pool was very children friendly, staff were extraordinary we loved doing the activities for the keiki. The room was extra cold, we couldn't change the thermostat because the battery was low. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.