Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Beautiful rooms, very peaceful, very friendly
A beautiful hotel creating an oasis of peace in our troubled world.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly and helpful hostess, as were the other staff. Good variety of choice from the breakfast menu. We took two evening meals which were both excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huddersfield

Family run hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2016
We stayed for one night and the hotel was hosting a wedding when we arrived so, very busy, however this did not in any way detract from the warm welcome and close attention we received from the owner. Because of the wedding the restaurant was not open but our host went to a great deal of effort to make sure we found an excellent alternative in the nearby town. The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast offered a wide variety of well presented quality food. I have no hesitation in recommending a stay at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle, Staffs

Lovely hosts

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Great small hotel, within walking distance of town. Lovely host Lindsey who cannot do enough for you. Hotel busy with a wedding and birthday when we stayed (23rd July) so we had to eat in town.... but we found a great little Italian that serves gluten-free pasta, wonderful for us coeliacs! Breakfast was plentiful. Good value for money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel, its staff and the food made a week long stay away from home very pleasant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Nice hotel.

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: Staff and food.
Cons: Shower in the room could be a bit better cleaned/re-grouted.
Location: Loads, the different Abbeys in the area. Plenty hill walks which although not Highlands material, they have great scenery to view.
Booked this hotel in Hawick, didn't have much other options as everywhere seemed fully booked, we needn't have worried. It's an old country house style building which has been modernised and although the decor isn't what I'd have at home it is perfectly good. The owners and other staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent. We arrived with bicycles and they arranged for a small shed at the back of the hotel was available for us to store the bikes when not in use. The only small issue was the room, the shower needed a deeper clean around the grouting and the mattress had some sort of crinkly sounding cover which did annoy us a bit.
5 out of 5
by dean from West Yorkshire

stunning

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
from beginning to end was made to feel like a special guest . the staff can't do enough. if anyone needs to show someone what customer service is just come here .
5 out of 5
by Daniel from NE England.

Helpful staff, drinks a little overpriced.

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent staff, very helpful and willing. Only slight snag was that the hot water took a while to come through (about 4 minutes) to the shower and or tap. Everything else was excellent, order for dinner was cooked straight away as they knew we were a little short on time. Ah one other negative note is the bar prices for drinks, think it worked out at 7 or 8 pound for 1 bottle of cider and 1 can of irn-bru.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Mansfield House in December

Posted Jan 3, 2016
The hotel is an old building which is part of the charm, however facilities are somewhat dated though very clean. The staff were exceptionally helpful and provided a good value service.