Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nz

Neat and clean place

Posted Jul 8, 2017
It was awesome to stay at apple Moter in . It was neat and clean room and had all the facilities which we required.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

terrible experience

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: ownership change hand?
1. very rude man from reception/owner, told us no bad comments sin 19th century, but was ranked the lowest 2 by customers. 2. found hair in the towels 3.very bad sound proof. 4. 3star rather then 4 stars they advertised.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dunedin

Not as it seems in pictures!!!

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Watching all the young Samoan men from my balcony - a good 100 odd of them!!!
Cons: At a time when the motel know has an annual event in their city - keeping the rooms that have better facilities free for guests.
Look, don't get me wrong - it was OK. Tired, old, very thin walls. Very, very dated. SEEMED clean enough - but NO cooking facilities, because they keep those rooms for migrant workers at orchards. Which I thought as we, the tourist, probably paid more for our rooms, but actually had to settle for an inferior rooms. eg had to lug our suitcases upstairs as all units on bottom floor (which had the cooking facilities) were taken up with the migrant fruit pickers. One good thing - they did come and service the rooms daily, eg towels etc. Really wouldn't recommend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nz

Look elsewhere

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Wotif
Pool was un useable Would not book there again Not worth the money I paid to stay there
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Average

Posted Feb 19, 2017
This was the only motel left with a reservation for art deco weekend. Pillows were horrible im glad I remembered my own. Bed way too soft tgat it was uncomfortable and I woke with a killer sore neck. Very outdated. Shower was horrible needed an upgrade even just change the shower head! Empty body wash holder. 3 massive cockroaches crawling around our room and a few ants in the bed!! Advertised FREE WIFI and found out when we got there that it was only 50mb lol. Pool was green and its summer.....god the list goes on..Sky wasnt actually sky more like freeview...but other than all of that I was glad I had a place to stay. Wont be staying here again though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekend in Hastings.

Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Hotels
This was a fairly cheap Motor Inn. I guess we got what we paid for. It is more like a holiday park or camping ground. Queen bed very hard. Pillows very thin and no extras provided. Kitchen cupboard had very damp smell to it. Kitchen utensils and crockery totally adequate. Very hot water. Very clean bedding. Two cockroaches but very hot weather possibly brought them out. Two woollen blankets provided. Bathroom clean and adequate.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nelson

A Pleasant Place To Stay

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Close to all amenities.
Cons: Having noisy neighbours on the first night, did not give us a good feeling. We assume management soon sorted this out, as we were too tired to leave
Location: All good
Having never stayed at this Motor Inn, we knew it was close to the amenities of the town. What we needed for our room, was readily available and a quick visit to reception sorted out the items that were missing..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient to central city

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Basic accommodation. Dated and worn. Requires a remodeling. Having to share the handbasin with the dishes is a bit odd. Minimal extras such as soap tea and coffee. Swimming pool was well used and spa was broken. But on the plus side was location and price. Plus being animal friendly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average hotel

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
You get what you pay for really. Found it ok although we had to plug the jug and toaster in all over the place as there were no plugs to use in the kitchen area without having to unplug the fridge first. Place could do with better or more pillows. We had an empty soap dispenser in the shower. Also housekeeping forgot to give us clean towels. Pool area very run down but usable. Overall was ok.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff but needs a major overhaul..