Ratings based on 255 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales UK

Art Deco NZ style

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Everything
We wished we had longer to stay in this stylish hotel, helpful staff, good food and character.
4 out of 5
by Anita from Auckland

Masonic Hotel

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
The reason not to give full marks concerns light and air. In order to have a window open (and avoid using the pump all night) light straemed in and the TV pilot light shine straight on to the bed. All other points are favourable and the hotel cherishes and shares it's history in a pleasing way. Very co - operative staff (over ordering and seeing me onto) a shuttle.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Invercargill

Real cool hotel

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: Everything, atmosphere, food, staff
Cons: No
Location: Right in town, beautiful view of the sea
Extremely comfortable and clean, great friendly staff, a true experience
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Unique art deco hotel in Napier

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Brilliant art deco character feel which is a big part of the Napier area. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Aircon in our room was a little noisy but not an issue.
We stayed here for one night recently during the Hawkes Bay Marathon. The rooms have been recently renovated and have a very unique art deco feel. Our room was very comfortable and well appointed, and also quiet despite being in the middle of town. The staff were all very genuine, friendly and helpful and the main restaurant and bar also captured a great 1930's vibe.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Superbly renovated faithful to its gorious past

Posted May 4, 2016
Location: Fine cuisine in restaurants at the Six Sisters complex nearby
Central to beach and art deco architecture of the charming town. thanks for preserving such charm
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
We chose to stay at the Art Deco for our honeymoon, and had the most amazing stay! The view was breathtaking, the hotel and building itself were stunning, and we couldn't have asked for a more perfect experience. Thank you to the staff for making it such a memorable stay. Absolutely 5 stars.
5 out of 5
by Susan from Australia

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
Great place to stay. Helpful friendly staff. Lovely room. Close to the beach. Amazing food in the restaurant next door.
5 out of 5
by John from Te Awamutu

Great place to stay

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
Great place to stay. Great location and food. Recommend without hesitation.
4 out of 5
by Janet

Deco divine

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely Art Deco hotel with modern features. Perfect for mini break away. We had room overlooking marine parade with balcony.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous art deco hotel very well refurbished.

Posted Mar 31, 2016
Pros: art deco. gorgeous decorations. kept its real character. very well mannered staff. Gorgeous food at the restaurant downstairs.
Cons: delay in refunding the bond (we are still waiting for it to be processed)!
Location: perfect location. middle of town. Everything close by.
Room was fairly small. Very clean and beautifully decorated. Glass door giving onto the inside patio. Gorgeous art deco. However many mosquitos entered through the door.