Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great service, excellent facilities.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay at Mangapapa. They provided excellent value, and dinner was spectacular
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Special occasion

Posted Sep 26, 2016
My wife and i enjoyed the splendid 5 course degustation with matching wines, a lovely room and cooked breakfast. Excellent food and ambience round a fire in the lounge and the accommodation is top grade. The manager and staff make it a memorable experience. Total bill was $600.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Napier

Relax in luxury

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: The hotel was clean, tastefully renovated and had a beautiful setting.Was also great having such a high standard restaurant on site.
Cons: Possibly the signage to the reception, I did find that a little confusing on arrival.
Location: Very central to great wineries, restaurants, shopping and activities, but set in its own peaceful rural location.
Mangapapa hotel has been recently renovated to a very high standard. The rooms are spacious and very tastefully decorated. The location is semi rural...with in 10 min drive to Hastings, Napier or Havelock North, so lots of wineries and shopping not too far away, while still benefiting from the peace and quite of a rural setting. The staff were very professional and attentive, the food was amazing and I would definitely recommend Mangapapa to friends and family. A place for a special occasion or an escape from reality. Loved it!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, California

My Favorite on my Trip of 12 hotels

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: Grounds, beautiful building, furnishings and more
Cons: It was pretty perfect
Location: Beautiful location in the country, but town is just 10 mins away - the best of both worlds
Everything about this hotel was perfect - the grounds, the buildings, the furnishing, the food, the staff. The setting is near an apple orchard and landscaping beautiful. The building is over 100 years old and totally refurbished to beauty and comfort. I wish I could have stayed longer to enjoy the surroundings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very plush

Posted Mar 16, 2016
A lovely resort in a nice little town. Our only regret was the restaurant was closed (it being a Monday) so we didn't get to try the degustation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2016 by David, Hotel Management
Dear guest Hopefully you come back in the future and you can then try our menu. Kind regards David & the team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2016
My work takes me all over the world, and I haven't stayed in a better hotel - competes (and beats some) of the very best! You cannot go wrong staying here - the food was particularly good,
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2016 by david, Hotel Management
Hi Thank you for the great review and maybe one today we will see you again. Regards David & the Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Fantastic hotel with great amenities. Cannot recommend it enough!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2016 by david, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind words Regards David & the team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Luxury accommodation in the middle of wine country

Posted Dec 14, 2015
Pros: Building, rooms, grounds, location, host, breakfast.
Location: Wine country - many tasting rooms. Recommend Craggy Range Winery for dinner. Visit Napier for the art deco architecture and history.
We stayed here in November 2015 for two nights and really wish we had been able to stay for another night or two. Our intention had been to look for a place in Napier and then decided to see if there was accommodation closer to a winery we planned to dine at. It couldn't have been a better decision. Recently reopened after a massive update, we were floored by the comfort, luxury, and hospitality. The hotel, our room, and the grounds are beautiful. There's a rose garden in front and, behind the main building, a pool, spa, sauna, and small gym. Our host could not have been more friendly and welcoming, he even drove us to a winery for dinner as the hotel chef has Sunday night off. Breakfast in the dining room included a great array of self-serve continental items as well as delicious cooked items from the menu and coffees. Generally speaking I would say it has a boutique hotel atmosphere but, because there were only two other couples staying there at the time, it took on more of a B&B vibe as we did dine with the other guests our first night at a winery, and joined them for a delightful drinking session the second night as they were still in the dining room when we returned from our dinner out. We stayed in one of the small rooms in the main building, but we did check out one of the new suites in an outbuilding. All I can say is WOW! Lap.Of.Luxury. Mangapapa: Book it now!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix Arizona

A Real Joy to find a gem like this one

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Location, views, wonderful amenities, comfortable room, great staff.
Cons: Change locks to the suite doors -- you need the metal key to lock the door. Would be better if they were electronic and self locking.
We were nothing but pleased about our stay at Mangapapa Hotel. When we initially pulled into the drive, we saw a great location but thought the facility was a little aged. Were we pleasantly surprised ! The facility exterior has some years on it, but the interior has been refreshed and remodeled. Our room was a one bedroom suite, wonderfully updated in every way. The finishes are not plush, but very nicely done, and the suite layout and amenities were everything we wanted: a kitchen with refrigerator and dishwasher, a separate bedroom with door to accommodate one early riser and one late riser, a nice well stocked bathroom, super comfortable bed with fine, crisp linens. And this place is immaculate, both in cleanliness and maintenance. Hats off to management, it's so nice to find a place that knows how to run their business. Also, an A+ rating to the entire staff. From front desk to Brian in the 3rd floor restaurant, nothing but outstanding in every way. By the way, you might not expect a white tablecloth, fine food restaurant at a hotel, but this one's got it. On top of everything already stated, this place has a wonderful location and beautiful view of the bay, both from the restaurant and our suite. We stayed at eight different upscale hotels during our 3 week trip -- we enjoyed this place more than any other. A definite top star rating is well deserved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2015
A pleasant place to stay with a very excellent hostess serving breakfast , bar and dinner. It s not very often today that you get staff who excel and this person made my wife and myself feel very comfortable. A credit to the hotel for employing such a person