Ratings based on 412 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth WA

40th birthday and holiday

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Our family loved every minute of our 3 day stay. An exceptional hotel and staff who made us so comfortable and welcome we were happy to hang out as much as venture out to Napier, the scenery and vineyards beyond. Napier is a cool town with plenty to do, which is great as we will be back to enjoy another stay at The County Hotel, the first time in my life I can say that about a hotel. The food and drinks at the attached Wine Street restaurant were fantastic every day, exceptional wine list including the delicious barons wine. Plenty of cute interesting and thoughtful extras like conplimentary port in the library make The County Hotel a true experience as well as a place to stay. Thanks for showing Dan, Isla and myself the very best time. Truly it was a 40th birthday to remember and we are glad we got to spend it with you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Fantastic location, friendly staff

Posted May 29, 2017
We would definitely stay again. Our room was spacious, comfortable and quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful. Owner of the hotel a character, friendly & lots of knowledge of the area. Fascinating to chat with. Loved our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from usa

Classy!

Posted May 3, 2017
Lovely accommodations, modern anemities in a fantastic building, enjoyed the library and glass of port.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth Australia

nice hotel in a quite location close to the centre

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing required , all good as it is,
Location: nice hotel in a quite location in the centre of the city
All good, could not fault the hotel or staff in any way
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

misleading, it's not a boutique hotel.

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: clean and comfortable, great location
Cons: market it differently or upgrade it.
Location: great
Booked and paid through expedia but were immediately told we would be charged an extra $35 for the third person (booked and paid for a room that said it could accommodate three people in a King bed plus roll-away). Decor felt outdated and misrepresented. Had to pay extra for newspaper etc. Restaurant and bar looked outdated and over-priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great old hotel with good food and bar

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Wotif
Great old hotel which survived the 1931 earthquake. Service was fantastic with escort to room and pointing out the Restaurant and Bar facilities. Food was brilliant and great selection of wine to match the dishes. Centre of town and close to everything. Would happily return and recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely place with lovely staff

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Wotif
Excellent staff and food, needs to have good pillows, they were thin and not comfy. Also we were placed in the Ruru room next to some guests with children, they were in and out of the room and had constant door slamming... maybe some self closing doors would stop this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great location and beautiful grand hotel.

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: A lovely heritage hotel.
Cons: The bathroom in our room was getting a bit tired and could do with a refresh (especially the grout around the floor tiles).
Location: Very central to town/shops, cafes/restaurants. Beach also handy.
The staff and service were fantastic. The library and complimentary Port were a very nice touch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Art Deco style is maintained throughout the hotel,

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The Art Deco character of the building, the pleasant, friendly staff and the restaurant food
Cons: I would have liked to have had the rubbish tin in the room emptied daily
Location: Napier is great for tourists and holidaymakers. The hotel's location right on the waterfront and one block from the main shopping street is perfect
The little touches, like the friendly welcome, the fruit bowl in the lobby and the complementary decanter of port in the library, make the stay something special.
5 out of 5
by Ruocen

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
They are nicely place and all of the stuffs have professional attitudes. Lovely hotels and nice people