Ratings based on 420 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really comfortable room. Great view.

Posted May 22, 2017
Bathroom is very clean and tidy and spa bath and extra big shower are wonderful. Bed was very comfortable with a good selection of pillows. The view was stunning. Very good value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice hotel close to the beach and city center

Posted May 17, 2017
Very nice hotel in a quiet neighborhood. Beach is a stone throw from the hotel and a board walk is a big plus. It is away from city center but it has a variety of restaurants and pubs to choose from. We enjoyed the stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MELBOURNE AUSTRALIA

A great hotel

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: I don't know
Location: It is out of the town centre and therefore has limited restaurant facilities, however in all other respects it is a great hotel
This hotel has exceptional quality, with our room in the front corner of the hotel having a fantastic view over the beach. The service from the restaurant for room service is very good. It was the best hotel we stayed in in New Zealand
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel by the beach.

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Nice facing the sea and good to relax for a few days. Interesting art-deco environment.
Location: The sea, and just sitting at the room balcony is very relaxing and enjoyable
The room size is comfortable, though toilet is a bit tight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel with sea views

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Fresh, clean spacious and quiet.
Cons: nil
Location: Barely used
Short and very comfortable. No. That's all you're getting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Albert

New Zealand 2017

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: The location was great, right near the beach.
Cons: Nothing to improve.
Location: Great restaurants, cafes, shopping, and the beach all nearby. Several wineries nearby.
The hotel was easy to find and had lots of free parking. The staff was extremely friendly and provided a lot of great information about the area. The room was very quiet and clean. It was well equipped including a dishwasher.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from taupo

Wonderful hotel with great views of the sea.

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Position, views, comfort, facilities and everything else.
Location: Great location with lots of places to eat and great views.
Air conditioning had been put on and curtains shut for our arrival which is wonderful for such a hot day. Great size rooms, bed was very comfortable and lots of choice for pillows. Very clean everything works and it's in a great position. We couldn't fault it and will return again in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey UK

A modern hotel, lacking in character but good

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Clean smart comfortable and nice staff
Location: Gannet colony experience was enjoyable but not if you have back trouble Napier walking tour British Car me muesium quirky but interesting
We liked The Crown, so much so, we elected to stay for a third night. Modern, shiney and a little bland but the rooms were large and comfortable (or at least ours was) everything worked, the staff were pleasant and helpful and we really enjoyed having a sea view balcony to sit out on. (Sea view, if you ignored the car park in between). The bed was firm but not hard and we both slept well. The only negative was the lack of suitable local eateries to our taste. If you stay here you won't starve as there are restraunts but menu choices (and seating capacity) were limited. We did enjoy two very nice pitzas from the takeaway underneath the hotel on one occasion.
5 out of 5
by Jeff

Ocean view and quiet

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel. We were in a newer building that had an ocean view. We had dinner on our balcony one night. This part of Napier is about a mile from the city center where all of the Art Deco buildings are. This part of the beach was not teaming with cruise ship passengers like the town center. Also, it is very close to a great restaurant, Three Doors Down. We wish the hotel had a safe in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Very good, great position near beach.

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Really good experience, would go back. Lots to do in Hawkes Bay and you can cycle everywhere.