Ratings based on 367 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Interior was pleasant, Location was not the best

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: Room was nice and wifi was quick
Cons: More parking, and monitor the parking area, there were work utes parked at the hotel spots and they were definitely not staying at the hotel.
Location: Location of Hotel wasnt the greatest. Wasnt alot to do, shops were closed by 8 pm, was a tad boring
We drove to Napier from Roturua, got to the hotel about 40 mins before check in time which was 3 o'clock. All we wanted to do was see if the room was ready and if yes, would it be possible to check in a little early. My partner said, hi we have a booking under Williams, the lady responded with erm and...??? paused and then said, check in isnt till three, maybe come back later. I could be wrong here, but the nice way to respond would have been, let me see if the room's ready...and maybe suggest to go grab a bite and the room will be ready shortly (sounds nice and friendly). When we came back at 3 another lady checked us in, she was lovely, very friendly and polite. There is literally not enough spots to park a car at this hotel. End of the day it left us with a sour taste, and we'd probably never stay at this place again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved this hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: Spacious, clean, bright, lots of room to relax. Friendly staff.
Friendly staff, spacious, clean and quiet room. Wish we could have stayed longer. One of the best hotels we stayed at in New Zealand.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2016 by Vikram, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hawke's Bay

Well sited.

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: It was quiet.
Cons: At the very least a continental breakfast should be available. And I would have liked more than one cup of tea over the stay.
Location: Good restaurants nearby.
Bed very uncomfortable, only one pillow each and they were hard and uncomfortable. No breakfast available at all. Only 2 teabags.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2016 by VR Napier, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we are sorry that our Hotel did not meet up to your expectations. Unfortunately the adjoining restaurant has closed , we are in the process of looking at alternative arrangements for our guests. I'm sorry that you only had two tea bags, these are however always readily available from reception. We as a hotel try very hard to ensure that our guests receive exceptional service and hope that you will stay with us again and have a better experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bayern

Modernes Hotel sehr zentral gelegen

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Pros: Durch die zentrale Lage ist alles schnell erreichbar.
Cons: Es wäre schön, wenn man als Hotelgast das Frühstück gleich mitbuchen könnte.
Das Zimmer war sehr sauber und komfortabel eingerichtet. Die zentrale Lage ist sehr vorteilhaft.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2016 by VR Napier, Hotel Management
We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland NZ

Very happy with the accommodation.

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Pros: Clean, tidy, good value.
Location: In the city and close to beach, Art Deco architecture and other attractions
Great location, in the city and close to the beach. Got a nice room at a great price. Hotel staff very very friendly, helpful and efficient. Ideal accommodation for my short visit to Napier.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2016 by VR Napier, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review our Hotel. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not park your car at the hotel car spaces!

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Cons: Car spaces are way too narrow. My car got damaged due to the very narrow car spaces and concrete pillars.
This became an unpleasant experience due to the damage to my car as the car spaces are way too narrow with concrete pillars around it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raglan

Nice and central

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Staff were great at accommodating us for an extra night at late notice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2016 by Vikram, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your great review, it is much appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your trip and stay at VR Napier Hotel. Thank you for staying with us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great - thank you!!

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Pros: Clean and crisp.
Cons: No
Location: Theatre right across the road.
Great - thank you! Had a lovely stay. Nice staff and handy to town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2016 by Vikram, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your great review; it is much appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at VR Napier Hotel. Thank you for staying with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dreieich

sehr Zentral

Posted Mar 6, 2016
Pros: die Lage
Das Hotel hat eine sehr zentrale Lage. Die Zimmer sind ok + sauber doch aus meiner Sicht keine 4* . Es gibt nur sehr wenige Parkplätze am Haus und alle anderen Parkmöglichkeiten sind auf einem anderen Grundstück über die Straße.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from auckland

A very good Hotel,staff friendly, a nice room

Posted Mar 3, 2016
Pros: I liked that it was an older original Hotel done up but still kept the Art Deco style. Having the Cafe their sort of part of it for breakfasts etc.
Cons: As I came in from Auckland early afternoon landing at one o'clock, I did find the 3'oclock Check in a bit late.
Location: Other than above one can go right along the marine parade at the top of Emerson street their is a lot of places of interest for young and old.
I only realised the Hotel was their so I was lucky in getting accommodation at the time. A good place, as right in town, taxis, buses are close.Good cafe's restaurants wineries Taradale is a good shopping centre also Hastings both have wineries.Ahuriri great cafe's restaurants also the Marine Parade.Westshore with the beach.Napier also have really good fish and chip shops as with the fishing boats their, one gets good fresh fish.Good market gardens and orchards. Places are all close by five minutes to ten minutes away. Movie theatre handy, interests for young and older people around Napier and outer places.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2016 by VR Napier, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes.