Ratings based on 318 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland New Zealand

Good location!

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: Location, spacious room & quiet in the evenings.
Cons: Attention to cleanliness regards housekeeping
Location: Location excellent! Easy walking to major points of interest in the CBD and easy access to restaurants, shopping, banks and supermarkets.
Hotel location is safe and handy to everything (restaurants, great cafes, shopping, supermarkets, the beach front and iSite office) in the CBD. The room was large and featured a small balcony overlooking memorial gardens. Not a great abundance of guest parking on site however overnight parking on surrounding streets was safe and and well lit. On arrival, room cleanliness left a little to be desired however issues were remedied that day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Stayed in studio with 2 double beds. Nicely refurbished, and clean. No kitchen facilities. There is free parking but only a few spots (and tight) so we had to park on street one night and wake up before 8am to put money in the meter. Good location, friendly staff, good rate
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taupo, New Zealand

This Hotel was fantastic value for money

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Pros: The room was exactly like the photos. Central in Napier and very affordable.
Location: Hop, skip and a jump to everything.
Great place to stay - very central in Napier so could walk around. Close to eating places and Marine Parade. Very tidy and modern room. Just what we were after for a night in Napier with the kids.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

No facilities

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: Not much
Cons: Entire customer experience
Location: Lovely town. Great weather. Plenty of other places to stay.
No receptionist on arrival, phone number provided didnt work, restaurant was closed for next three days, no gym, no pool, no carparking, definitely not art deco. Windows were absolutely covered in dirty fingerprints and shower was too small to wash my hair in.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dreadful staff in an ok-ish hotel

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Terrible check in, tiny bathroom and a set of policies that are designed for the hotel's convenience, not the guests. Vacuum cleaner stayed in the hallway outside our room for both days we were there. They claim free parking but when you arrive you see the "limited availabiity" sign - about 8 spaces for the entire hotel, some of which (just to rub salt into the wound) were occupied by staff! Tiny sink right next to the toilet in the average bathroom meant that my toothbrush twice fell into the floor area around the toilet pedestal. Overall Dreadful place - stay at your peril.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Great hotel experience.

Posted Jan 9, 2016
Comfortable and highly recommended. Clean and staff are very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland NZ

Exceeded our Expectations

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: New room fittings and central location
Cons: Cancel your association with the Little Port Restaurant
Location: Very central with several streets of (art deco area) 'strip' shopping within a minutes walk. Macdonalds' plus Countdown and Pak n' Save close by.
My wife and I stayed at VR Napier for two 1 night stays over the 2016 New Year break; each time on our trip between Auckland and Wellington. The hotel is very easy to find being right in the centre of the city's shopping precinct just across from the gardens of Clive Square. Whilst not having all the bells and whistles of a regular hotel ...that is 'room service' etc it does surprise with spacious and modern rooms with new furnishings and bathroom facilities which are always a treat as you never really know what to expect from any hotel room. As previously noted by other guests the hotel parking is minimal but they do seem to have an arrangement just across the road which is free and easy. The only negative we can offer is the hotel's association with the adjoining restaurant which disappointed us. I say association as there is access to the restaurant from the hotel reception' and the hotel also suggests guests eat there for breakfast. I would suggest that guests walk just across the road and dine at " Breakers " which whilst not fine dining offers real value for money and especially suited to families with young children. Example ~ I had the Sunday Roast (pork) which came with a free Ice Cream Sundae at approx. $14.99 washed down (extra of course) with a nice glass of Savvy Blanc. Conclusion we can recommend this hotel and would certainly stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Dec 11, 2015
Pros: Location
Great location, room was perfect for what we needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place, comfortable, parking, restaurants

Posted Dec 5, 2015
My wife and I enjoyed our stay here. Close to everything. Staff friendly and attentive, short walk to shopping and restaurants. Would recommend and stay here when next in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Roomy, quiet, and close to downtown

Posted Nov 21, 2015
Location: There's a very lovely park right across the street from the hotel, and the hotel is located right on the edge of the famous Art Deco area downtown.
We got a poor first impression when we arrived at 8pm to find the reception desk closed and the front door locked. Eventually a staff member was sent down to give us our key and show us where to park. I'm happy to say that the room itself was quiet, clean, comfortable, and quite large, though if you intend to watch TV (which we did not), you might find the screen rather small. My companion, who is 6' tall, found that the shower head was installed too low for comfort. There were no further problems with our stay, though, and I would not hesitate to stay here again. We were even allowed to remain parked in the hotel's lot after we checked out, so we could walk into town for lunch before we left.