Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Philippa from upwey

Devenport old world charm

Posted May 13, 2015 on Hotels
Whilst the place is getting a little tired the atmosphere and location is fabulous. Needs some updating in heating however one does expect the beach in tassie to be a little cold in the winter, so rug up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tas

The room was lovely; quirky, warm, comfortable.

Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: The room, the staff, the grounds. Also the location just a walk away from the beach, in fact one could see the sea from the bedroom window.
Cons: Just on a personal note I would love a bath. Not that there was anything wrong with the bathroom. Mind you, there was a bath on top of the lookout!
Location: It was about a 100yds from the sea so the location was perfect. From there was a coastal walk which we did before breakfast.
It was nice to stay in accommodation which was different in a most pleasant way. it had a homely welcoming feeling but still maintained the essentials of warmth and comfort. The staff were most welcoming and proud of their place. The grounds were lovely; certainly different with all the ponds and the accompanying bird life. Tucked away was a beautiful unique church, inside were candles at the end of each pew. We are certainly going back there when we're up that way again. Lois Calcraft
5 out of 5
by Renjie

Posted Mar 4, 2015 on Wotif
Location: Tranquil, Good views
5 out of 5
by Jules from Australia - SA - Regional SA

Posted Feb 26, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Divine food at evening meal & delightful garden surrounds
Location: Wonderful
Facilities: character filled; Value: good value; Service: Go the extra mile; Cleanliness: Lovely;
5 out of 5
by Geoffrey from Australia - NSW - Sydney

Posted Feb 13, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Great place to relax with great food
Cons: Had to leave
5 out of 5
by Hugh from Australia - VIC - Melbourne

Posted Feb 13, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Room and restaurant, grounds and views
Cons: No fenced area for dogs to run free
Location: Tranquil, Good views
Facilities: Top of the line; Value: Value for money; Service: Go the extra mile; Cleanliness: Immaculate;
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2015
Amazing off leash exercise beach directly infront of property! 25 acres of grounds where any sensible dog can run while being surpervised by loving owner! Much better than a holiday kennel :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kathryn from Underwood, Tasmania

relaxing

Posted Feb 4, 2015 on Hotels
Very relaxing. Loved the informality of it and the welcome for our dogs
3 out of 5
by Brendan from Australia - TAS - Launceston

Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Checking out
Cons: Loud feast party was held by the staff for public .drunken people and Noisey staff until late into night.
Location: Tranquil
Facilities: Tired, Old, Old bad smelling room; Value: Over-priced, Expensive ; Service: staff cleaning past 1130; Cleanliness: Poor, lots of spiders in room; We had no where to park when we returned the night to stay due to public visiting for their dinner
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2015
The Victorian house was built in 1878, so it is old by its very nature. The room furnishings, linen, fresh flowers, and in room facilities (TV/DVD etc) are far from tired. Themed feast nights are a fun way to mingle with locals and represent great value - sorry you chose not to join in. The feast finished at 10:30p.m., no-one was drunk, there was no loud music or partying - just a nice candlelit dinner with fun atmosphere. Staff clocked off at 11:30p.m.
4 out of 5
by Tracey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Wotif
4 out of 5
by Maree from Australia - QLD - Brisbane

Posted Jan 16, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: The dining experience was superb, service excellent very relaxed and quirky place to stay.
Cons: Third bed was a little uncomfortable.
Location: Tranquil, Great, Good views
Facilities: Nice , Distinctive; Value: Fair price; Service: Go the extra mile, Outstanding; Cleanliness: Spick and span, Pleasant; Excellent views, close to beach.