Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Launceston

Great atmosphere

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Wotif
Food was very tasty and cooked to how we wanted staff were very helpful
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Launceston

Quaint accommodation close to beach

Posted May 23, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Comfortable with great food offered in the dining room. Lovely homestyle breakfast and fantastic two course dinner - hearty servings!
Cons: The decor in the dining room could be improved but it does fit this type of property.
Location: Close to beach. A nice quiet please to get away for a romantic weekend.
Enjoy an old world, homely experience staying at Hawley House. Walking distance to lovely beaches and rock pools. Very comfortable accommodation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Full of history and character

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Wotif
Very nice place to stay. ....great atmosphere, house is full of history and character
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

good location but ...

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Pros: staff obviously family so a family feel.
Cons: decor
good location but hotel a bit run down. looks like a bit of updating would be in order
2 out of 5
by John A from Perth Western Australia

Distgusted

Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel grounds need a lot of work to clean up, and remove dog poo. The two large dogs in reception make the carpet smell and i understand from locals, the dogs are in the kitchen whilst food is being prepared. I did not confirm this. Rooms need to be refurbished ,and power points installed in bathroom. My partner had to request a change of rooms, as her room was full of very tiny black bugs . Not worth $200 a night
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by Sophie, Hotel Management
Thankyou for your feedback which of course we take very seriously. We advertise as a pet friendly hotel and have resident dogs who are never in the kitchen - this is a totally unfounded accusation and is troublesome hearsay. There is wallaby droppings on the extensive grass areas, not dog poo. The house is situated on a 350 acre estate. There are two power points in every bathroom. Decor is a matter of personal taste, however we ensure it is in keeping with the heritage nature of the property. Fruit flies were attracted to fruit left in one room on the last day of their stay, and a free upgrade to a different room was given.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from legana

Lovely hotel across from the beach

Posted Feb 28, 2016 on Wotif
Beautiful area, close to beach, great facilities, good was amazing. Affordable and relaxing. Highly recommend
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: everything you need is there. total relaxation.
Cons: Total Free breakfast would be a bonus.
It was a fantastic spot, quiet and self contained. Beautiful food and a relaxing experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2016 on Wotif
Hotel was good. Very historic and interesting. Sophie was excellent. We will be back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tasmania

Lovely setting, great beaches close by

Posted Feb 3, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Staff, dogs and setting
Cons: Don't expect modern because this is not what Hawley House is about so by our likes we felt that the amenities could be upgraded somewhat.
Location: Great location, beaches, sporting venues, large supermarket and specialty shops and a hotel/motel fairly close.
Hawley House is a very old home with a lot of character and for those who like to look at lots of photos and memorabilia you will be stoked. Dogs are allowed and there are 2 dogs on site and they are lovely. The house is quite cool on a very hot day so this is good. The gardens are lovely with their very own wildlife at night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sa

Delicious

Posted Jan 23, 2016 on Wotif
Beautiful place with character. Setting by beach is perfect.