Ratings based on 608 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unexpected charges on check-in time

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Cons: Staff
I was charged extra cost for my two kids even when the reservation says that I have a Family room with 2 extra beds. Fortunately Expedia helped me with this issue and will reimburse the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from east anglia

All ok standard double room size ok beds comfortab

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Average hotel
Cons: May be modernised a bit
Location: bus service around hotel not very good
very good breakfast staff polite and helpful, bus service around hotel not very good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rugby, UK

Nice hotel, let down by staff!

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Great location, very central. Room was well presented and comfortable
Cons: Staff attitude and overall personality to customers Upgrade key system to key cards. This would allow guests to come and go freely after 8pm
Location: Location is 10 min walk from the centre where you can find everything you need
The hotel is in a great location, situated about a 10 minute walk from the centre of Edinburgh and the castle. The hotel itself is fine, looks nice, is clean and tidy but there are a few things that put a dampener on our arrival. When we tried to check in we were not greeted with a happy hello, instead we were met with a rather unhappy looking staff member who just asked for the name our booking was under. No friendly hello or smile or anything to make us feel welcome. After a 6 hour drive this was not what we expected, we certainly did not feel welcome. On our other interactions with the front desk the manner of other staff members was better but still felt a little unwelcoming. We were aware that parking at the hotel was limited and had pre booked a space as per the hotel suggestion, which I'm glad we did as the hotel only has 3 spaces for its 40+ available rooms. Not a complaint just want other to be aware that parking is very limited and to make sure you pre book. Parking covers you from 2pm to 2pm and you cant always park before then depending on other residents checking out. Our room was fine overall, clean comfy and well presented, however it was missing some amenities that some (including ourselves) would consider standard for any hotel room. It was missing a safe, hair dryer, iron. These may have been available on request but due to our short stay we did not have the need for them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rutland

Ideal for stay

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Comfy bed, coffee facilities and easy to operate shower
Cons: Nice if Breakfast was included it is if booked direct.
Location: Eating places towards town, regular bus service. Castle easy to get to and Royal Mile. Grass market near.
The Hotel was 15 mins from the Castle and some of Fringe events. Good Bus service to event areas so Ideal place. Room was comfortable although small size. Breakfast was filling and tasty. The staff were helpful and polite.Suitably priced for the time of year
4 out of 5
by Alexander

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Sarah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland and Canada

Great hotel near to Princes Street and Castle.

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Ebookers
Visited with Canadian family for the festival and tattoo. The hotel was ideally situated an easy walk into the city centre and near Haymarket train station. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff were helpful and friendly. Good choice of food for breakfast. Would definitely recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by grzegorz

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Timothy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Hotels