Ratings based on 2,058 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Happy customer

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Very relaxing and great location that was central to everything. Easy check in, check out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Darwin NT

close to transportation, restaurants and amenities

Posted Dec 7, 2017
close to transportation, restaurants and amenities
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canberra

An acceptable hotel but the cleanliness is worried

Posted Dec 3, 2017
The hotel is generally acceptable but the room cleanliness is really a trouble. It seems old but that is fine. However, some hairs can be clearly seen from the floor and corner. Others are good, like staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Redmond, WA, USA

Nice hotel, poor location

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Pros: Room 732 was clean and the bed comfortable. Nice to have an iron and ironing board in room. The breakfast is recommended for anyone staying there..
Cons: The room lighting was on the dim side, and we had to use the provided flashlight to access the safe.
Location: You have to do a lot of walking to reach Darling Harbor attractions. Visit the Chinese Garden near the hotel---lovely, highly recommended.
The hotel facilities and staff were above average, but the hotel's location in the Haymarket area next to Chinatown wasn't convenient. We are a couple in our 70's. Darling Harbor is teeming with young people and the restaurants are generally full at night. We had to walk a long ways or use the light rail system to get where we wanted. The hotel caters to large groups, making the excellent breakfast a crowded and noisy affair. We had a better experience at the Holiday Inn Old Sydney (excellent location) earlier in the month.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Two night stay in Sydney

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Nice friendly hotel. Room had all needed except a working fridge. We didn't need one so wasn't an issue. Location is across from Paddy's Market in China town. Breakfast buffet a little expensive. JB's Bar in hotel offered good food although service was s little slow. Overall experience quite good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Good staff in a hotel needing renovation

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Staff were good. We got early check-in and late check-out. The hotel room is in bad shape, needing renovation. The walls had paint peeling off, the air conditioning was poor, the toilet seat needed to have been replaced at least a year earlier. The list is long.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Good location

Posted Nov 9, 2017
It's walking distance to The opera house, Hyde park, next to China Town. Lots of restaurants, 2 minutes walking to Paddington market for the best price souvenirs shopping. Hotel staffs at the breakfast "Shipley" room can have more smiles and hospitality. Instead of long faces and showing how they hate their job !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne au

very nice hotel for one or two week visit to sydne

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: location, friendly staff and cleanliness
Cons: one free movie channel or access to sbs on demand.ostly some free access to wifi
Location: location great for family food, lots of reasonablly priced choices
the title says it all, dont like being forced to say more
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, affordable

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Location, good rate, good sized room for families.
Cons: Housekeeping service was slow, room was cleaned very late in the day on 2 out of 3 days. Disappointing when we were out almost all day and not cleaned
Location: Darling harbour
Good hotel for the price. Excellent location close to all attractions and big rooms to suit families. Breakfast had a good selection and was of high quality. Room service food was also of a good quality. The house keeping service was a bit slow. Room was serviced quite late most days and was not really cleaned well on one of the days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Central Sydney

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Great pillows
Cons: Another washing machine
Location: Near Central Station, markets, China Town, restaurants, Darling Harbour, Wax Museum, Aquarium, wildlife zoo.
Very helpful staff, did good job of cleaning and tidying the room. Beds were comfortable. Only 2 washing machines for whole hotel so had to wait a few hours before we could do our washing.