Ratings based on 492 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth

Convenient for central amenities

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Easy to reach fron Haymarket station. Five minute walk to cinema. Ten minute walk to Princes street. Very convenient.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow UK

Convenient for the Fringe

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Convenient for the Fringe without being too close to the action. Raises its prices significantly in August but then so does every other hotel in Edinburgh. Good breakfast with a coffee machine that plays clasical music every time it brews a cup - most quirky!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Scottish Connection

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: Great staff and the food was very good.
Cons: All is good!!!!
Location: Great location ,an easy walk to the Royal Mile, including the EDB. Castle and Palace. Furthermore the Hay market also very close.
The hotel is within walking distance of the castle and palace. The front desk staff was excellent, and very helpful in giving us directions to the sights we wanted to visit during our short stay. Thanks to them we had a successful and pleasurable stay. I would stay there again the next time I visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor quality hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Location to the EICC & Haymarket.
Cons: Overall workmanship in rooms could be improved (painting/finishing). Need more efficient lifts to serve guests getting to rooms. Soft closing doors
Room unfinished despite claims of being "newly refurbished." Very noisy corridor doors. Tiny slow lift - only one working during my stay. Hectic breakfast buffet with no room for the long queue for hot drinks & frantic staff. I wouldn't stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax

Brand new renovation but no room at end of bed

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: See above
Location: On tram and bus line. Walked to Portrait Gallery which is a must see.
Great location. Walk to Princes St. On tram line. Shower seal on glass door leaked badly. No room to bring suitcases between bed and wall. Too large a modern standing lamp not useful. Bulb burned out. Clean and smart room but badly designed. No luggage stand. Left on rainy day where roof leaked badly in hallway. Too bad as evening meal was well done and stay was overall great.
5 out of 5
by Piyanuch

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Claire

Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
There is some work being done outside and in the car park but the interior was really nice. We stayed here after going to a concert at Murrayfield and it was only a 20 mins walk away , which was great. Breakfast was great too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well located hotel in central Edinburgh

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: The location and the breakfast service.
Cons: Could definitely do with air conditioning as it was extremely hot even in early spring.
Location: Very close to the Haymarket, and within a few minutes walk from the castle.
The room was large, however it had its flaws such as he strangely tall bed and the fact the room temperature could not be achieved at a temperature lower than 22*C (in March) as the windows don't open fully and there is no air conditioning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunderland, UK

Close to everything.

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Once again we enjoyed our stay,room great , staff great and a good area to get to all places of intrest.They are starting a refurbish so looking forward to see how they can inprove it.
4 out of 5
by Desmond

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel