Ratings based on 250 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from birmingham

High price for the facilities.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Large room with comfortable mattress. Poor lighting and lay out of furniture; ended up hitting against bed frame as this is very close to large sofa one side and cupboard on other side. Shower head leaky/part broken with poor jet stream, blocked shower drain; had to stop to avoid shower tray overflowing. Very basic continental breakfast.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary Ab

This place is a disgrace to the Expedia brand name

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Nothing - I requested a main floor room because of my knee problems. I was given an upper level and had to lug all our luggage up the stairs
Cons: Ha ha !! surely you must be kidding
Location: Location was good near Haymarket train station.
There is absolutely no reception desk the only way to get in through the LOCKED door is by using a 4 digit pass code which through my repeated requests I was finally able to get through Expedia. The 4 digit numbers you have to enter in on a very antiquated lock system which is below waist level and not easily visible you have to bend down in very poor lighting conditions. This lock system is so old it belongs in a museum of antiques for display not for use in a modern day world. The lock system uses mechanical tumblers and if not done very carefully will not open for you room key. Telephoning the hotel is useless as they will not answer. Not a service friendly place to stay - and we paid good money for this place Most certainly not a place I would reccomend for any one - maybe for poor starving students. During my 4 day stay there 2 family's (on separate occasions) were almost in tears as they could not get in This is NOT a hotel and should stricken off your list of accommodations in Edinburgh
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dana Point , Ca

Nice place

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Very nice, great value for the price! Clean and comfortable. Decent breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great place to stay in Edinburgh

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Lovely old building in a great location, near train station and walking distance to sights. Well run by lovely folk. Great breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Great location near tram, lots of stairs though with no lifts. Overall was a good stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Conveniently located, let down by character

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: Steps away from Haymarket station, giving you frequent opportunities to explore outside of this hotel.
This was the tiniest hotel room I've ever stayed in, and that includes Paris! The bed was situated up a ladder over the door with no room for bedside tables or anything else. The bathroom was barely wide enough for a human, making using the toilet and shower an exercise in contortion. Paper thin walls mean very little sleep on a Friday night when drunk students return at midnightly hours and make snacks in the common room next to our room. Breakfast was very basic and ran out of meats and cheeses early. Overall opinion: this is much more of an overpriced hostel than the hotel rates they charge.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wurtboro, NY

Unique exowriencw

Posted Jul 23, 2017
First time traveling to the UK and this was our first stop. A bit strange being in a new country and no one to talk to. There is no one to greet you, you read a paper on how to get in, key is in a box. Room is small for a family of four. Breakfast is good, train/tram is across the street.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Large room, no on site staff

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Size of room
Cons: I don't care for clean towels and made bed everyday, but if no trash collection, at least provide bigger trash barrels for room and bathroom.
Location: Near station, walkable to city center.
Large rooms, good breakfast. Good location near station that dings a bell all day.. Limited street parking, but we didn't have trouble finding a spot. I got emailed and texted by someone from the hotel the day before our trip, but when I tried to contact the same person twice while we were staying there, there was no response either times. There is no staff on site, except for the people setting up breakfast. They didn't even come in the room during our stay to collect trash. There is luggage storage in a weird work closet outside, but we used no problem. I would stay here again due to price, but it was annoying not being able to get a response from the hotel staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel close to the city centre

Posted Jun 30, 2017
The overall is good except the mattress is not comfortable and there is no room cleaning service.
4 out of 5
by Lois

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels