Ratings based on 405 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Cons: Decor, cleanliness, choice and quality of breakfast bar, earlier check in time, firmness of mattresses
Location: Bread Haymarket train station, close to theatres
This property should not be on Expedia's books: overpriced for facilities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belleville, Ontario

Wi-fi, price and breakfast

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The Wi-Fi was fine on the ground floor but intermittent on the third, the Lady said they had switched companies recently. It was a lovely old building, but I think overpriced for the room I had. The breakfasts were fabulous, plenty to eat.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Nice Staff, but Room Old and Dusty

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: The lobby was beautiful and the location was convenient. Quick tram ride to downtown or the airport just steps away!
Cons: Clarity of charges for extra asks, cleanliness, lighting, and a few staff members.
Location: Tram is just a quick walk away, which can take you to downtown or the airport. Also some cute little restaurants and shops nearby too!
The location was fine and the first few people we talked to on the phone were fantastic. They accepted a package I had mailed, and were able to store my luggage while I went on a bus tour for 5 days. However, it was annoying that when I called about luggage storage, I hung up thinking it would be free. But when we arrived to drop off our luggage, there was suddenly a charge that was never mentioned. At that point, it was so late in the game, that we had no choice but to accept it. When we arrived to actually check in, the man at the desk was quick, professional, and even had the paperwork close at hand to show that we had paid for our luggage storage, and gave us the key and instructions on how to get to our room. He even offered advice for getting around the city. The room itself smelled old and musty, the door lock stuck so we had a hard time with the key to lock/unlock the door, and the lighting was harsh. We felt like we were in a hospital room turned basement hotel. There were also dusty bunnies on the bed and we woke up feeling sick. My allergies (primarily dust) were also really awful in that hotel room. Upon check out, we stood around for a while and it was just to give our key (but upon check in I was under the impression I had to sign again when I left) and then we went to the lobby to be chased down for luggage payment we already paid. Got out of there as fast as we could before they could think of more charges.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Close to city centre and necessary facilities.

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Location, staff and room.
Cons: A couple of armchairs would be a good idea.
Location: Central location with shops, pubs, and railway station nearby. Also very close to west-end of Princess Street.
Large room, nice breakfast and pleasant staff. The hotel held our cases after check-out enabling us to explore Edinburgh until we were due to leave for the airport. Location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Clean rooms, helpful staff, close to tram and station
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Delightful hotel near the centre of Edinburgh

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Charming staff, rooms clean and decorated in a modern cosmopolitan style, excellent breaksfasts
Location: Edinburgh Fringe events. Haymarket Station 2 minutes away, trams as well as trains into the centre. Mia Italian Restaurant
The staff made us so welcome. I was staying with my two daughters and the hotel offered an additional bed in the already 3-person room to ensure we were comfortable. They also told us how to get into the centre and recommended local restaurants. Altogether a lovely place to stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location ... best one can say

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Very modest hotel False advertising as said offers parking, but does not When asked very unhelpful and morose owner he offered little direction or help Staff otherwise pleasant enough Location very handy Did not take up breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham uk

Lovely hotel.

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Gorgeous room price includes cooked breakfast website only stated continental included so lovely surprise. Attentive staff. Nothing too much trouble. Cleanliness could be improved. Marks on mirror in room Faulty chair in breakfast too. Reported it still there next day although we were directed to a different table Overall a lovely stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Exeter, Devon

Superb Location and staff

Posted Aug 4, 2017
What a fantastic couple of days at this hotel. Superb Location with parking nearby (but expensive). Excellent access to the city centre and the Zoo. Staff were excellent, always happy to help. Would definitely stay here again. Room (deluxe double) was lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Nice hotel with a short walking distance from the train station in a nice quiet area. Very happy staying at No 32. The staff are nice and welcoming. The only think the breakfast wasn't the best but overall, everything was good.