Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Handy to Central railway

Posted Mar 17, 2018
Pros: It was cheap & handy
Hotel was built in 1893 so is very old. It is a hostel so had a veryity of cheap travellers there. Some of the dirty young lazy people should never have left home. Had road works outside my window on the first night until 4am.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Queensland

Great location but that's about all.....

Posted Nov 27, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: I liked the location, very central to everything. The beds were comfortable and the sheets were clean.
Cons: Remove the carpet in the hall area on the first level. Provide RECYCLE bins for guests to use. Clean the rooms and bathrooms thoroughly.
Location: Paddys Markets, shops, pubs, restaurants etc.
I stayed at the Sydney City Hostel for three days. From Friday until Sunday. The room was reasonably clean, quite dusty though. The window would not close, it was jammed open about 10 cm. I asked staff if they could close it but it wouldn't close due to the external work (painting) happening outside. My concern was cockroaches and mosquitoes would come in throughout the night as there are no screens. The power point in the room was not attached very well which I believe is a safety concern. The hallway carpet stinks and needs to be removed. The showers were mouldy and were unclean. The shared kitchen was okay and clean but dishes (clean and dirty) were left on the sink all the time. The worst part about the kitchen was the smell of cigarette smoke and other smells which came in through from the small balcony area next door. Loud heavy metal music was playing each night in this balcony area as well. There is no recycling at all in the Hostel. This is shocking for me as I am hugely concerned about our planet. I have sent an email to the manager of the Hostel asking why they do not provide recycle bins for guests to use.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nz

Good location

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Classic backpackers dig ... Very helpful staff and reasonably priced
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mildura, Victoria.

Great location but hotel not for everybody!

Posted Oct 27, 2017 on Wotif
Great location. Breakfast was offered, but only corn flakes available. I preferred other options (thank goodness for nearby supermarket!). Second floor toilet and showers barely tolerable. Anyway location and cost outweighed those negatives.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Coast

Great location. Cheap room that sufficed.

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Wotif
You get what you psy for. Don't expect much though breakfast was poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Affordable backpackers close to Central Station

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Facilities a bit worn down & old.
Location: Close to Central station.
You are obviously getting what you pay for, but I've certainly stayed in worse places. Very basic facilities even for an individual single room with shared bathrooms, but I was just after a place to sleep really &this was fine for what I needed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK cheap room

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
You get what you pay for
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for.

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Wotif
Friendly staff, less facilities (I stayed in a shared 4-bed dorm, can't expect more). Otherwise bathrooms were clean and room was okay. Not bad. Would recommend for a cheap stay in CBD.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Good location comes at a cost.

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Wotif
The hostel was ideally located for our weekend convention. Short walk away from a lot of nice places to eat and from the harbour. Unfortunately the state of the hostel is very shoddy. The bathrooms don't drain well so there is always a wet floor for hours after someone has showered. The rooms are pretty small (which is what your paying for really) but were comfortable enough for the short amount of time spent in there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Au

Please do not book through wotif or anyone else.

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Wotif
This hostel is a disgrace! The people who run this hostel have no care for peoples safety. The rooms, showers and toilets are disgusting. We refused to stay even one night. Wotif refused refund as did hostel management.PLEASE DON'T STAY HERE YOU'LL RUIN YOUR HOLIDAY. P.S I HAVE REPORTED THEM TO AUTHORITIES REGARDING ELECTRICAL HAZARDS AND LACK OF HYGIENE.