Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milano

Not heated

Posted Dec 29, 2017
The location is great. The staff was OK at check-in but probably they turned on the heating just moments before. Neither the room nor the bathroom could warm up till midnight and during the night the heating seemed to be automatically turned off. We survived because of the Gulfstream but I think the experiments with this regard should be discontinued. George P.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, inexpensive. No frills.

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: Location, price.
No elevator, so unsuitable for anyone with a disability. However, the man who checked us in did help get our bags to the top floor. The room was quiet, with a large window facing gardens. It was small, with a high ceiling, and the only furnishings were a bed, a closet, and a shelf. The ensuite bathroom was adequate, although the shower pressure was feeble. There was some mould on the ceiling. Minimal service, no breakfast, although coffee makings were provided. Bed was comfortable. We had no control over the heating, which came on and went off at intervals. Edinburgh is expensive, so we chose this as an affordable option. Fortunately, the only time we spent in the room was when we were asleep. There was no reason to linger.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated hotel, but with a comfy bed

Posted Oct 14, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is rather dated and the bathroom was chilly, but the bed was clean and comfy and the bedroom heating works well. Great location for Haymarket station. Given it was a lot cheaper than other hotels in the area, can't really complain too much as we were out all day and only wanted a clean and comfy bed for a few nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Excellent Fringe Stay

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Comfy and cosy. And conveniently located.
Cons: None needed.
Location: It's located by Haymarket train station and across from the tram from the airport and the airport express stops. Nearby are restaurants galore.
It was an overnight stay and quite enjoyable.If you're coming for the Festivals or the Military Tattoo, this could be a choice for you. The facilities are excellent, and there are 24 hour shops nearby. The room itself is small, be well kept. The restroom facilities are the best I've ever seen in Edinburgh and I've been coming here for years. This would be my no. 1 choice to stay if and when I return. Not in the city center but that's good enough. The surrounding area is quite picturesque. You probably couldn't find a better place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017 by Scott , Hotel Management
Good afternoon Isaac, Thanks for taking the time to leave such a glowing review of our hotel. We really appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay here. Kind regards, Scott McCabe
4 out of 5
by Jasmine

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017
Good afternoon Jasmine, Thanks for taking the time to post a review and for the good rating, we appreciate your feedback & are glad you enjoyed your stay here. Kind regards, Scott McCabe General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sussex

Nasty needs work doing to it

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Was scared to look what was living in the bed. Room so backdated no plug in the bathroom sink. In clean bathroom. Felt so dirty. Floor was like it had not been hoovered in 20 years. Rodney and dell boy sort of place haha
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Good afternoon Luke, we're sorry you feel that way about the hotel. I can assure you there was nothing living in the bed, can you tell me what room you were in & when you stayed so we may be of more assistance. I can't find a booking for a Luke through Expedia on our calendar.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A hotel close to Haymarket and old town

Posted Jun 2, 2017
For this rates, the hotel is a reasonable try since it is near to everything. It is a bit too old and shaby inside. If the owner can afford to renovate it a bit, for sure it will become a great hotel. Nice staff especially the guy from South Africa, he was funny and very helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So-so stay

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
The location was great! It was just across the station. I got lucky and was able to use the shared bathroom exclusively. The receptionist was nice and helpful but it wasn't the typical 24-hour reception that you see in hotels. There is no lift so it was quite a challenge to lug a luggage up to the top floor. The bed was too soft for my taste too. The internet connection died over the long weekend and I think there was no one around to restart the modem because when I left two days after, it was still down.
1 out of 5
by gerald

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
No room to swing a cat, bed lamp hanging off the wall only held up by the wires, shower seals failed and flooded floor. Great area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disgusting hotel and staff

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
I was organising a concert in the Cathedral nearby and booked one of the rooms (the superior double) for the artist singing in this concert. It was very important to have the hotel near our venue and when the artist and I went to the hotel to check-in (this was only a few hours before the guy had to sing for 600 people) nobody did literally anything to welcome us for around 30'. We've only been asked to sit down and wait. Can you believe that we were there for 2 hours, in the reception, with this soloist, and didn't managed to check-in? Actually after a while I became annoyed and embarrassed by the situation (the artist wanted to shower and get ready for his concert after his flight journey) and started asking what's happening. This is when a woman (who knows if she was the receptionist or not) started saying different things like: the room has no hot water as the boiler is broken, the whole hotel has no heating, the room is actually not available!!!) Imagine our shock. In the meantime it was just chaos in the lobby (there isn't an actual reception area) with this lady's children running and playing around- the place looked actually like their messy home where you would try to get a sleep. Let's not forget that I phoned in the morning and spoke to a guy who confirmed that money for the room were taken from my card and the room is waiting for us. What a liar- well, he actually took the money from my card.