Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Home from home

Posted Feb 13, 2018
Pros: A Light & airy quirky room, decorated with an African theme, even down to the tiger teapot! We had a key to the front door to come & go as we pleased.
Cons: Nothing at all
Location: 10-15 minute walk to Edinburgh town centre, 5-10 minute walk to train station, tram & bus routes. So much to do locally whatever your interest!
A beautiful townhouse. Aileen (the owner) is a lovely lady with a good sense of humour, nothing is too much trouble, she makes this guest house very homely. She left a welcoming gift of a small decanter of whiskey, water & chocolates along with chocolates & the usual tea, coffee & hot choc (& biscuits) supplies. Breakfast was included & we certainly didn't need to eat for the rest of the day! Fresh fruit, various yoghurts, a full Scottish breakfast (cooked to your requirements) followed by toast. There were cereals, juices, teas & fresh coffee too. Aileen is very knowledgeable about the area & will point you in the direction you need to go. I would definitely recommend this guest house to anyone wanting to explore Edinburgh. We plan to go back ourselves later in the year.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2017
A very pleasurable experience, in a very nice part of town
5 out of 5
by William

Lovely stay in a great place

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
Huge room and en suite, very grand and comfortable. Aileen the proprietor was really friendly and helpful and supplied a comprehensive and delicious breakfast. The location was ideal being only three minutes' walk from Haymarket and trams to the airport. We will stay here again.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX


Posted Sep 26, 2017
The owner, Aileen, was amazing from the moment I booked this hotel. We communicated several times before my arrival to Edinburgh and she always promptly responded to my emails. She gave me exact directions on how to get to The Victorian Townhouse using public transportation. She cooks an authentic Scottish breakfast every morning for her guests, which was delicious. The rooms were well furnished, nicely decorated, and very clean. The rooms were also very quiet. We didn't hear other guests or outside noise. The location is within walking distance of pretty much everything you'd want to see while in Edinburgh. Other than to and from the airport when we took the bus, we walked everywhere we went! I left my ipad in my room upon checkout and Aileen had it mailed overnight to me in London free of charge. This was above and beyond as it was my mistake for leaving it behind. I can't say enough good things about the Victorian Townhouse. I highly recommend this place to everyone! I will definitely rebook when I return to Edinburgh! Thanks so much for your warm hospitality, Aileen!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

OK but not sure I'd go back...

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: The proprietor, breakfasts, room size, location, reasonably quiet
Cons: Dampness, shower size, bed comfort
Location: Walking distance to Edinburgh, lots of things to do there
This hotel is 1/2 story underground, so it's rather like staying in a basement and somewhat damp. We did have to exterminate a rather large spider but that may be something that comes along with housing partially below ground level. Our room had a very small shower enclosure -- perhaps 3' x 3'. Bed comfort was average. Still, the rooms are good sized, the proprietor is personable, helpful and friendly, and the breakfasts were very good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
Loved the place. Would stay there again!
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Aileen is a wonderful host

Posted Jul 13, 2017
breakfast was hot and tasty. Even accomodated 2 friends that stopped at breakfast!
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eugene, OR

Victorian ambiance

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Quiet, location, owner manager was so helpful and fun.
Cons: shower flow
Location: Victorian row mansions with good transportation and restaurants within walking distance
Quiet,pleasant,and historical place to stay in new town Edinburgh. Very accommodating and supportive owner. Only 1 off for low flow shower. I would definitely stay here again. It would feel like going home.
4 out of 5
by Martin

Lovely welcome!

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely owner and only a 15 minute walk to the city centre. The only draw back was the parking and the uncomfortable mattress.
5 out of 5
by Lisa

Absolutely Wonderful!

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay at the Victorian Town House was fabulous! Aileen, the owner, was terrific and extremely accommodating throughout our stay, from our delayed flight, to our forgotten charging cords, to restaurant recommendations. Her Scottish breakfast was great. We would highly recommend staying at this B&B!