Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warwick

Experience

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: There is a suitable space for a person to stay.
Cons: I would like to suggest to have a lift, it is helpful especially disable hotel visitor and big luggage like in my case.
Location: near to haymarket train station
This is my first time staying in a dormitory hotel. It was a great experience. The check in and check out process is good. No problem, fast and easy. I brought a large cabin bag, it was quite challenging to take it up to floor three by stairs. The room and the toilet were ok. People are coming and left so it's quite hard to expect a cleanliness. Overall its good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St-JEan-sur-Richelieu

Very nice staff at this Hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Much appreciated the musician's evening show. The Scots are very friendly and welcoming
4 out of 5
by robert

Ok, but not great.

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
Used it as a cheap place to sleep within walking distance of city centre. Was good for this, not the best hostel I've stayed in. Staff were polite enough, good showers, but bathrooms didn't seem like they were cleaned for the 3 days I stayed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2017
I had a nice experience in Scotland. I would love to come back there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from thurso

convenient to city

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: The staff were great. the food in the bar was good.
Cons: I don't know, I have never stayed in a hostel before, people in the room I shared seemed to be intolerant of each other.
Location: The location was great for the city of Edinburgh
great food in bar . Not a good experience sharing with 7 other women who bickered about each other making the slightest noise during the night, even someone turning over in bed!
3 out of 5
by Jack

A So-So Stay.

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
Actually it was so-so. Although they advertise an open bar quite often they rent it out to private parties, thus keeping the paying residents out. Discovered under my bed old food receptacles, banana peels, etc. that had been left there for quite awhile. But the staff was very friendly and helpful and the neighborhood charming and safe. OK for the money.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canterbury, UK

Polite Service and Quiet Location

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
The building is very nice and check-in was quick with polite service. We did not use the shower facilities due to the smell in the room the first night stay. The mixed dormitory had a rough smell of mold and wet clothes which isn't surprising since it rains a lot in Edinburgh. It cleared the next night since there was only 4 of 18 people in the mixed dormitory room and we sprayed deodorant spray. The straightener in the ground floor women's restroom needs to be cleaned daily. It had brown crust build up on it which we refused to use. A lot of the plugs in the cages did not work and you had to test to see if they worked. These are things that need to be addressed however, the overall stay was fine. I would recommend it to people who are looking for a night or two stay.
4 out of 5
by Megan

Would recommend!

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was well situated and beds were very comfortable. Bathrooms and downstairs kitchen/lounge area were clean and well looked after. Only thing that was not great is that the showers were quite cold, no matter the time of day! I would definitely recommend it though, staff were very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Aoife

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels