Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Okay for a night

Posted Dec 23, 2016
You can tell this place is old, but is well maintained. It is okay for a night, but not long term.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Good value, nice hotel.

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Location: On a commercial strip so lots of basic food choices.
Staff was nice, room was clean and had been updated. I have 2 small dogs and it was great for them. Pet fee was reasonable. This was my second time here and I would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Stop off the road from traveling.

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Near freeway.
Cons: Should clean under bed and in corners. Was some spiders.
Location: restaurants near.
After traveling for sometime we needed to rest so we stopped and spent the night at this hotel. Check in was easy and room was nice. Breakfast was good!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Flea motel! Literally!

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: A good town to stop off by the interstate. Lots of food choices.
This motel was dirty and dingy. When we got to our room my daughter started get bit by fleas!! They gave us a different room upstairs but it was just as dingy. It smelled, the pillow cases was stained, and the sink and shower were stopped up. I had to shower in several inches of water! The breakfast options were minimal. The cereal was stale and the only hot option was a waffle. I travel often through Kansas and would never stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, ok

Better than the budget priced others.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Room was very clean and updated.
Location: Plenty of restuarants all around.
The city of Hays makes 13% tax on every night you stay, so just expect the price to jump that much when you check in for the bargain price, and if you have a pet it is another $10.00.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by EconoLodge Hays, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review on your most recent stay at EconoLodge Hays. Yes there is always a bed tax on top of sales tax and it is very common in any city when you stay at hotel. That is something not in our hand. We do have pet fee of $10 and we need that to deep clean that room after pet stays in. Thank you so much for such a informative review and I hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Nice hotel for what it is

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: The room itself was clean and well decorated.
Cons: No elevator made getting heavy bags to the 2nd floor a pain.
Fairly nice for a no-frills hotel. The room itself was comparable to much nicer hotels, though the floors/walls were exceptionally thin. (More in terms of transferring movement from other rooms than sound.)
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by EconoLodge Hays, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting your review about EconoLodge Hays. Yes, we do not have elevator but if you request in advance to be on main floor then you dont have to worry about taking stairs. Also we have only 2 floors. Thank you so much for chosing us over other hotels in town and I hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Comfy Rest

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Pros: Expedia.com
Cons: Fix the exterior door. It didn't open from the outside. Had to use interior door to get into room.
Location: Only stayed the night so don't know much about the are. Ate at Peter & Mandy's, tasty but much to much MSG or other additive-got fuzzy lips and tongue
Very comfortable bed. Very nice for a budget hotel. Breakfast was so so. Friendly staff. Nice place to break a trip from St Louis to Denver.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by EconoLodge Hays, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for letting us know about your experience at EconoLodge Hays. Come see us again and you will see we have added more healthy options on our breakfast menu.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MS

Clean affordable motel

Posted Oct 16, 2015
Overall a pleasant stay. Contenential breakfast was a joke.We ate 1 hour after it opened. There was no sausage or scrambled eggs (as there was supposed to be), although they were eventually served near the end of our meal. At this motel, it's just a method 2 get you off the interstate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by EconoLodge Hays, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your stay experience here. We did add some more healthy options on our breakfast menu. Sometimes we do get busy in breakfast when most of our guest come to eat breakfast during same time and some item do ran out. But our staff is prepping for more and will restock as time permits. And you noticed that at end of your mail that it is getting restocked. Also we cannot overfill scramble eggs and sausage and have it sit in former for longer time. Because it will not taste the same. Thanks for letting me know about your concerns. I will have a chat with my team on that. I hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Served our purpose well!

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Pros: clean, low price
Cons: Room furniture was a little worn, standard budget look but no complaints.
Location: Right off I-70. Minutes from FHSU.
I am not one to usually choose a budget hotel but since we were going to be literally just be sleeping in the hotel, I read reviews and took a chance on a place that was half the price of the hotel we usually stay in. The Econolodge staff were courteous and informative upon checkin. They do allow pets but since I prefer NO PETS, we were given a non-pet room. The room was very clean, beds and pillows comfortable. The breakfast had standard fare, waffles, rolls, egg patties, sausage, cereal, etc. Plenty to fill our bellies before a busy day. Very nice and clean. I really have no complaints about our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by EconoLodge Hays, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting your detailed review about your most recent stay at EconoLodge Hays. We are a budget hotel with no fitness room, no pool, no elevator but we do have all the basic things that you can find at many upscale hotels. Our facility is 100% non smoking, Flat screen TV with premium channels, Free Wifi, Complimenetary HOT breakfast with Scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, fresh fruit, yogurt, etc. I am delighted to read your review this morning and I hope to see you again .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder, CO

Very Pleased

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, everything worked, great internet connection.
Cons: A second chair for the table.
Location: Hays is a college town, and if you're into disc golf, there's a truly great course near the college that hosts the annual Frontier Open.
My wife and I stayed two nights -- Friday and Saturday -- while in Hays for a disc golf tournament. We found our smoke-free room with a king-sized bed to be clean and comfortable, with pleasing color combinations. Aside from the occasional hall traffic outside our door and a truck parked outside our window, the room was totally quiet. The mini-fridge was clean and frost-free. There was only one chair for the little table in the corner, but the king-sized bed took up most of the room, so a sacrifice had to be made somewhere. Staff was respectful and non-intrusive -- "professional" is the word that comes to mind. WiFi internet worked great -- probably the fastest and most hassle-free motel connection we've come across. This is the best EconoLodge we've ever stayed at, having been to several throughout the Western states. We did not partake of the included breakfast, so can't comment on that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by EconoLodge Hays, Hotel Management
Wow is the word that came out from my mouth when I read your review. Thank you so much for a wonderful review about your stay at EconoLodge Hays.I will surely pass your praise to our staff . They will surely appreciate it. Come and see us again.