Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KC, Missouri

Probably won't be staying here again

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Have used this hotel the last 6 years, stopping overnight on our way to Denver. We usually stayed here 1-3 times a year. Hadn't been here in a year and noticed the price had gone up. We brought our little dog for the first time and was put in a room that had stained carpet and a funny smell (maybe it was a pet friendly room?). Shampoo and soap were not good quality (very drying) and bed was awful. Definitely not the same experience we have had in the last six years, so it's time to shop around.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, Co

Cheap and clean for a one night stay

Posted Apr 8, 2016
It was easy to find. Staff was friendly. It was clean.
2 out of 5
by Pauline

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 15, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Nice Weekend in Hays

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Pros: It was clean, I had prompt service, and the location was really convenient.
Cons: n/a
Location: See above comment.
I came to Hays for a conference with a few colleagues. We needed an affordable place to stay. Fort Hays Inn is conveniently close to many eateries and only a five-minute drive from our conference location. I never had to wait long for front-desk staff, even when I called them in the middle of the night!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

It's cheap place to stay

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Cons: Maintainence is required.
It's relatively clean but somewhat run down. My toilet stopped flushing after the first use. It's basic and cheap.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Bugs Everywhere

Posted Jul 17, 2015
We found at least 6 bugs crawling around in the room before we went to sleep. The bed linens were dirty, the carpet felt old and musty, and the 1 chair was matted and disgusting. Would not ever stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Didn't expect much so wasn't too disappointed

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Sheets were clean and staff was cheerful & nice but room in general was old, grimy, and low quality. Lock didn't work on first room so they had to give us another. Worn out, grimy, stained carpet. Door didn't fit in frame. Furniture stained and broken. Must have just changed it to a no smoking room because it had obviously been smoked in recently. I'd look for a different place next time. Doesn't pass the would-I-send-my-mother-here test. Must have different areas at this hotel because our experience was nothing like some of these recent positive reviews.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DIRTY. Disgusting carpet. Fleas.

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Absolutely nothing.
Cons: Everything. Basically burn the place down and re-build it.
Location: We were at the Hays, Kansas location.
This place was just dirty. I wouldn't take my shoes off to walk on the carpet. It was matted together and stiff. I kept feeling like something was crawling on my feet and ankles, then I actually saw a flea on the bed. I will never stay at this hotel again and won't even trust the "America's Best Value Inn" brand for other hotels. It doesn't seem like their standards for inclusion are high at all.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Blood stains on the curtains

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Blood stains on the curtains and mud tracks straight through the room on carpet that was mostly torn up. Can't believe they call that a motel, and worse yet, I stayed anyways because it was late.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Probably not really "America's Best"

Posted Jun 16, 2015
My wife and I needed a place to stay for one night while passing through Hays. We chose this place because it was pet friendly and had a pool/hot tub. The pool and hot tub were both closed. We also had some trouble with our rooms AC unit in the middle of the night. Despite those two issues, it was an alright place to stay. The room was clean and pretty nice.