Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017
This hotel was a surprise, when I originally walked through the front door, I thought the rooms might be small and old, but they were big and comfortable and I thoroughly enjoyed staying there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Convenient hotel and very friendly staff!

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Really helpful and caring staff! Food great! Service good! Room could use a little update! All in all a nice hotel that we will return to!
4 out of 5
by Laurence

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Janette

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Confortable room

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Location, friendly and helpful staff, and the cleaness.
Cons: Create for the smoking guest a safe and comfortable small area protected from the bad weather. £12.95 for breakfast is toomuch andwithout other choice
Location: Good for a walk to the near by shops with a lot to see. Near the train station and main roads. Very central
With trains on strike, lucky to get on the net a good price and very near work. Friendly and helpful staff and a very clean hotel. Was a bit disappointed with the size of the room. Found it small comparing with other hotels graded the same. Was very disappointed with the total lack of catering for smokers. One either smokes by the Hotel front door with no protection from rain, wind, cold .... and no where to sit or, one can smoke in the area outside the bistro with no protection from the rain, wind, cold ....., the tables and chairs all wet, and without any security for the hotel guest- no hotel windows facing this area in the back car park next to a very busy round about with openings to the street. Smokers are charged the same as non smokers but have no where to sit down and relax while enjoying a cigarette. For this reason I rate this hotel 3 out of 5.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Nice old hotel

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Cons: Heating was too high for us.
Location: Lots of restaurants in the town less than 30 minutes walk, bus stop close by the hotel too.
Nice traditional hotel with lots of original features. Easy walk into town. Fantastically helpful team and good food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Nice hotel close to relations

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Very quiet hotel beautifully decorated for Christmas, excellant staff. .l
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok stay

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
Very poor reception from night manager only interested in collecting personal data
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Donkey Sanctuary Sidmouth

Easy access, good parking, friendly staff

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: It was a lovely building with nice (if compact) rooms.
Cons: It served the purpose for an overnight stop
Location: 10 minutes drive from the Cats Protection Head Quarters
The location is good and it was easy to find, the staff were helpful and I felt at ease on my own in the bar and restaurant. the food was OK. and I would use this hotel again.