Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

One night stay

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: Not applicable for our stay which was for a family occasion.
We needed an room for one night to attend a family occasion nearby - hence we booked The Hickstead. Staff very welcoming & check-in was swift. Our room on the ground floor was in desperate need of updating or at least redecorating. Although reasonably clean the carpet was heavily stained, basin plug was blocked & showered curtain too short ). The room was quite cold & we discovered the radiator in the bay window behind the closed curtains. The ceiling & walls were obviously thin as not only were we disturbed by guests walking around the room above us, but were could also hear them talking (they were not talking loudly!). Breakfast room service was very good & on time. Check-out was swift.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and very friendly hotel staff

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable nights stay and great breakfast!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
Service was very efficient . Staff were very courteous and friendly. A very impressive one night stop
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for lone business travellers.

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel has an old fashioned feel to it but our room on first floor was spacious, well furnished and comfortable. Ate in two evenings and food was okay- not fine dining but good enough. Lots of business people staying- if travelling alone you would feel comfortable and well catered for. Hotel's best asset was it's staff. Friendly, efficient and plentiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from berkshire

Good value especially the quality of the food

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Easy parking The room was well equipped, but a little dated. The staff were really good and helpful. The food was of a high standard and of a good price
Cons: Though well equipped the room was dated and could do with a makeover. This applied to the bathroom
Location: The location was convenient for us as we were going to see our grandchildren who we took to Brighton for the day
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grubby with rubbish WIFI

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
The Best way to describe this hotel is GRUBBY , glass table tops in reception with streaks ,dust in every corner etc. The WIFI was so poor I couldn't actually get any work done when I was staying which when you are away with business needing to check emails is quite important. The restaurant was very dated and as it was a warm evening the fire exits were propped open letting all the wildlife in I particularly enjoyed sharing me table with a daddy long legs. The food states homemade, but the burger I had was obviously homemade by Iceland frozen foods, plonked on a dry roll (no sauce or tomato etc.) with 8 chips on the side...hardly homemade. the bar area has a TV with a sky box but doesn't actually have sky sports etc, the hotel was full of mainly men and a lot were asking if they had the sports as various matches were on but no chance I'm afraid. surprisingly breakfast was actually ok for self service buffet style. the big question when I leave a hotel is ' would I stay here again ?'... I'm afraid not !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels