Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Very satisfied about this ideal base

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Stayed at Hippo Hollow while exploring Kruger and the Panoramic Route by car. The room was very comfortable, the location was easy to find and convenient, and the food was surprisingly good at the restaurant, especially the breakfast. The hotel does get large tour buses, and we found some of the tour group customers disruptive a few times during our stay, but that was not the fault of the hotel. There really are hippos on the property! There is also a nice gift shop on the premises.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Convenient hotel in Hazyview

Posted Jan 9, 2016
We were on our way to a reserve further north in Kruger, so this was just a one night stay. Everything about the hotel was fine. We even saw hippos on the lawn while eating dinner! The hotel caters for groups. A group staying while we were there were quite noisy, but we were tired enough that we slept through the nose anyway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: The staff at reservations and the wait staff at the restaurant were very accommodating and friendly.
Location: Lodge was a 15 minute drive from Kruger National Park. On a half day drive we saw the Big 5 and many more animals.
Beautiful setting. Our cottage was lovely. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great hotel to relax and enjoy the area.

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: The rustic feel and nice surroundings.
Location: The location is great, you can walk to shops and dining just up the road, and even the mall.
This hotel really was a good value. Nice large well decorated chalets that offer charm, privacy and luxury all in one. The grounds are gorgeous, the pool is sublime, and the lodge is nice to eat, drink or work. The food was great for the money, which was not expensive and pretty tasty for a lodge out here. The service is top notch, and they try hard to please. Close by, like 3 min walk, is shops, cafes, tours, and a few minutes more a new mall with a grocery...allowing you to make use of the outdoor grill on your patio, or, the kitchen fully stocked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pretoria

Good location

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Staff, location hippos
Cons: Needs renovation not enough light to read breakfast sausage & bacon not cooked Dinner chips cold hardly any veg
Location: Excellent location for Blyde Canyon & Kruger Close to restaurants
Positives= friendly staff, good hippo viewing ,pool area nice but old sun beds Not so good = rather run down in need of renovation River chalets charming but run down Food OK but expected better Rather expensive for what you get
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent place to stay

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Great location and the ambience of the place was spectacular.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Casey from Minneapolis, MN

Hippo Hollow chalet #2

Posted May 27, 2014
I just returned from a 4 day stay at Hippo Hollow May 23-26 and it was fantastic- we saw Hippos grazing out in the river and in the lawn as we ate our dinner two different nights. Wonderful staff, restaurant and facility- 15 minutes to the Kruger gate for safaris and walking distance (500 yards) to shops and restaurants. My wife and I stayed in a river chalet (#2) and it was great! The only caution I have for anyone in a chalet is that there is no TV in the room if that is important to you, however I think it adds to the experience of being at this beautiful setting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely Location

Posted Jan 22, 2009
This hotel is perfect for the Kruger park. We stayed in one of the chalets which had good self catering facilities available including a bbq on the veranda but the bedrooms have seen better days. The restaurant is also pretty good and has a lovely patio with a view over the hollow. We did see the hippo's but they are not guaranteed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vlak bij Kruger wildpark en hippo's in de tuin

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Goede locatie, vriendelijke staf, goed restaurant en natuur in de achtertuin................
Location: Nabij Kruger Park, God's window en vele andere bezienswaardigheden.
Deze vakantie is er een om te onthouden. Zuid-Afrika is geweldig. Wij werden omarmd door de gastvrijheid van veel mensen. We kregen gevraagd en ongevraagd advies en tips over waarheen te gaan, wat te zien en waar te eten. We hebben het natuurschoon van Zuid-Afrika kunnen verkennen, de wilde dieren gezien (inclusief de big 5), de eerste wereld infrastructuur (wegen, winkels, restaurants, etc.) gebruikt en genoten van prima eten en heerlijke wijn. Nooit hebben we ons onveilig gevoeld. De tegenstellingen van arm en rijk zijn niet onopgemerkt gebleven. We hebben ook een township bezocht bij Kaapstad. Ook daar waren de mensen vriendelijk en gastvrij. Hippo Hollow was onze uitvalsbasis voor Kruger wildtuin en andere trips. Ook hier het gevoel welkom te zijn. Gastheer Ephraim regelde onze trip naar Kruger en de avond van traditionele cultuur. In de tuin aan de rivier precies voor het restaurant van het resort graasde in de avond een jonge hippo. Wat wil je nog meer?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hamburg

grösseres Hotel mit Hippo- Besuch

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Pros: Das Restaurant und der feundliche Empfang. Die Hotelanlage ist sehr gut bepflanzt und gut gepflegt.
Cons: Das Frühstückspaket- togo und das wenig inspirierende Buffetangebot.
Location: In Hazyview.Ein guter Ausgangsort für die Panoramaroute (ca. 30 min) und div. Gates zum Kruger NP.
Sehr freundlicher Empfang. Restaurantbereich grosszügig mit Blick auf den Fluß. Abends bewachtes Vorland mit grasenden Hippos (wenn man Glück hat). Pool im Courtyard perfekt für eine Erfrischung. A la Carte Essen war gut- sehr gut, das Buffet hingegen eher langweilig. Die freiwillige Zugabe eines kleinen Frühstücks- togo bei unserer Earlymorning Safari war nett gemeint, aber qualitativ doch enttäuschend (im Vergleich zur sonstigen Küche). Ein guter Ausgangsort für die Panoramaroute (ca. 30 min) und div. Gates zum Kruger NP.