Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely surroundings and staff was helpful at all times in making arrangements for our safari trip and airport transfer. Buffet dinners quite nice. We had a family room overlooking the hills. Fantastic view. Overall our stay was just wonderful.
5 out of 5
by Melane

Amazing

Posted May 27, 2017 on Hotels
Had an amazing time at Protea hotel,the service was excellent, staff were friendly and accommodating.All my special request were attended to since it was my Fiances birthday. There's also shuttle service to the Kruger which is convenient. Will definitely book again.
2 out of 5
by Brian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Shinaaz

Hazyview magic

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing holiday with friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

We had a comfortable stay

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Cons: Just brighten up the rooms
Location: A new shopping mall is a drive away, there are no shops or restaurants in walking distance of the hotel. We had our hire car so this was not an issue.
We were booked for room only for one night. The hotel met our requirements. A very large room, very dimly lit which was clean and comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid Protea Hotels

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
Such a let down!!! We got a room with no Mountain view instead our view was onto the next row of rooms. Bugs were falling onto our bed from the beam above the bed. It was so bad, that we had to move the bed away to another part in the room! We ordered room service one afternoon to eat at the bar area. After waiting for 90 minutes we cancelled the order! Our complaints to staff and management were met with shrugged shoulders and even cheekyness in one instance. Bad service, bad food! Over all a bad experience! We will definitely NOT visit any Protea Hotel ever again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed (business purposes) at many other Protea Hotels this was the worst of all. The first room smelt of vomit. Thankfully the manager was kind enough to move us to another room. Room 4 was better than room 82, however the carpets had a bad odour.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good room, poor food

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent bedroom in an attractive hotel with nice gardens. Booking said we would have mountain view - instaed we had view of other bedrooms. Evening buffet in restaurant was very poor, breakfast a bit better but not great. Hotel is several kilometres out of town so limited alternative options for evening meal and it lets the place down.
2 out of 5
by Rob from Johannesburg

Expect more from a sizeable hotel group

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff doesn't equal service ... they need training and lots of it. Food was particularly bad. Response to requests was staggeringly poor. Got woken up with a phone call at 6am to tell us that the tea cups we requested the afternoon before were at our door.
4 out of 5
by dr. hans-joachim from Wiesbaden

Great if you have a quit room

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
Nice setting, overlooking a valley. Rooms 1-60 very noise as close to street. Aksum for room numbers higher than 61. they call it "outlooking".