Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
33% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Fine if you're deaf and on a diet

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Handy for local National Trust properties.
Cons: See above
Location: See above
Contrary to their website, breakfast is only supplied (with supplement) on Friday, Saturday and Sunday mornings. Other days hard luck!! We were not warned about this when booking, we thought it was a B&B not just a B! On some wednesday nights there is an 'open mic' event with loud music(!) and out of tune singers. Easily audible from the bedrooms. You can enjoy(!) this till 11.30pm or so. Ground floor room was comfortable and clean but very close to main road. Without double glazing this was very noisy and on muggy nights, opening the window for ventilation would be very insecure. The TV was on a wall at the side of the bed rather than at the bottom. Also there are no BBC stations. The WiFi was brilliant so we watched BBC on our iPad. At night and early morning the rear fire door is left open as there is no staff around until 11.00 in the morning when the Inn opens.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Pub close to busy road

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Loud and noisy guests/drinkers until early hours of morning. Zero management control. Had 5 hours spasmodic sleep. Would not stay there again if you paid me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Worcester

Very nice rooms and excellent food

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Staff, food, rooms
Cons: Do breakfast
Location: Busy road, nice area
Keen to write a review as there weren't many here, and few of them positive. - Excellent rooms, albeit on a main road which isn't in their control - The evening meals were excellent and reasonably priced (a burger and 3 pints for £21) - The staff were very friendly - They DO NOT DO BREAKFAST IN THE WEEK
4 out of 5
by Richard

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Happy
4 out of 5
by Chris

Well worth a visit

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Staff very friendly and welcoming. Food very tasty. Room comfortable and clean
3 out of 5
by Eileen from Beckton London

One night stay

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
we stayed for one night it was very noisy due to room been on the front next to a main road (Take ear plugs). We found the reception on arrival poor and a little unfriendly. The room was small but clean apart from a towel which was dirty staff changed this and apologised saying it looked like some had ironed it. Even staff were very friendly and were the staff at breakfast
4 out of 5
by jyz from Portsmouth

PLEASANT EVENING

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels
ROOM WAS CLEAN BUT BASIC WITH NO VIEW..BEDS COMFY BUT DUVET COVERS COULD BE IRONED AND A MIRROR IN BEDROOM WOULD BE USEFUL. IT WAS A TYPICALLY LOCAL PUB WITH GOOD PUB GRUB. SERVICE BY STAFF WAS GOOD. NOISY POSITION IN BETWEED 2 ROADS.PUB COULD BE UPDATED.
5 out of 5
by Holbornhound from Devon

Excellent stop over

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent stop over place for business, good food, nice chat. Hope Bambi makes it!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salisbury

May bole

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels
Room was past the bar toilets and across yard / building site. Not a good first impression. The hotel sign light glared even through the curtains all night. Breakfast acceptable although not ready for guests 20mon after published time. I am not likely to stay again
4 out of 5
by Rob from Lincoln

Lovely place

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels
Really nice pub with a friendly atmosphere and welcoming staff. Amazing food, both dinner and breakfast, and nice environment in which to eat it. Fairly basic room but had what I needed, with the possible exception of a desk or table to work on. Bed wasn't the most comfortable but certainly wasn't the worst I've slept in. Only thing that really let it down was that the room was right on a 50 road so I was woken up by lorries a couple of times in the night - a blackout blind might have gone some way to limiting the effect of that, if anyone from the Inn is reading this. All in all though, a really pleasant place.