Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Castle close to town

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Staying in a castle is an adventure not to be missed.Very clean and comfortable rooms and staff was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lebanon

Amazing Castle in a beautiful area

Posted Sep 6, 2016
The castle is absolutely amazing, it's an experience in itself! The staff are super friendly and helpful, the rooms and toilets are very clean. An open buffet breakfast is served every morning from 8 till 10, the food is varied and good. The hostel is located in a very nice area if you have time to explore; it is also only 1 hr away from Amsterdam by train.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jordan

Nice hotel with excellent view

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Hotel is nice and clean People are very friendly and helpful Location is difficult with public transport Needs car
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful castle and garden, wonderful breakfast

Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels
The castle is beautiful with a spectacular garden, and the room we stayed is very spacious. Breakfast is realy good, with boiled egg, different bread, meat, coffee, juice, etc. We were not very lucky that we got in at the same time with two German schools field trip, at night there were scary shouts, and the girls next door kept on laughing and talking... shower and toilet were separate, but the shower was smell really bad. First time staying in a castle, great experience. Staffs are efficient and nice.
5 out of 5
by Konstantin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 10, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A remarkably unique hostel

Posted Sep 4, 2015 on Hotels
There's no way you can stay in a genuine centuries-old castle without spending a fortune unless you come here. It's a phenomenal find. To climb up a stairway designed for sword fighting, to wander grounds and gardens that are being tended in ancient fashion, it's just a one-of-a-kind experience. Yes, it's a hostel, and you'll be sleeping in bunk beds possibly with three hundred teenage bicyclists (though they do have family rooms) and yes the rooms can feel a little spartan albeit very clean. But it's an easy trade for the incredible setting and sense of history. Breakfast is excellent as well.
5 out of 5
by Mohamad from GB

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent friendly staff
1 out of 5
by Ann H from Washington, DC

Misery with a capital M

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
We, me plus my family of four, stayed here for one night. We were all excited about staying here. When we checked in I was slightly taken aback when the woman told me to "get my set of sheets over in the armoire". Strike one (though maybe I should have known this since it is some sort of hostel?) The bathroom was comparable to a gym locker room bathroom. Definitely wear shoes. I inquired at the desk to ask about towels. They can be rented for 2E each. What?? Strike 2. Finally, we get settled into our bunk beds (at least I knew to expect bunk beds) and turn out the lights around 11pm. Soon we start to hear people congregate, smoke and be joyous until, oh I don't know 2am? 3am? Strike 3. Window open gives us fresh air, noise and smoke. Closed windows gives us noise and a warm room. The next morning, the THIRD time we go to the desk to return our rented towels (you get 1E back for each towel) we finally get someone. Isn't this when everyone is leaving?? While the front desk people were always very nice, they were never there. Bell ringing or not. So for $200 a night was this a bargain? No. Would I stay here again? No way. Keep in mind we have traveled all over Europe and parts of the US and I have never had this kind of experience. Except for the farm stay I did in Slovenia - but that was sleeping over a pig pen... So my tolerance is pretty high but this was ridiculous.
4 out of 5
by JUANPABLO from Amberg, Germany

Great castle

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
Nice place, wonderful views and running grounds.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very horrible hotel ever I booked.

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Room and hotel not same as shown in pictures. I don't recommend to anyone