Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City

Small European-style hotel in the Altstadt

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Very European, very friendly staff, very good location.
Cons: It's great the way it is.
Location: It's within the pedestrian zone, but it is very close to Bismarckplatz, with its access to bus and streetcar services.
It was a lovely stay in a hotel with friendly, attentive staff. The breakfast was a typical German one--lots of Brötchen, with a variety of cold cuts, cheeses, fruit, breakfast cereals, etc. Rooms are built on a smaller, European scale, but are very clean and bright. A lovely place to stay!
4 out of 5
by Barbara

Great location

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, clean and friendly service. Drawback: no elevator.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location, good facilities

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Location, nice room
Cons: Mattress was too soft
Location: Right off of busy shopping street and not far from university. For being so convenient, it was actually a quiet location.
I loved the location of this hotel, right at edge of the busy old town but on a quiet side street. They were flexible about arranging late check-in, though the code I was given for the key lock box was incorrect and I needed to call for better instructions. My room was bigger than expected, and clean - but the bed was terribly soft and would have killed my back if I'd been there any longer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, CA

Small hotel in the Altstadt

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Comfy room. Little balcony. Very quiet even with construction happening nearby!
Cons: Multiple keys per room.
This is a cute little hotel at the start of the pedestrian zone in Heidelberg. Conveniently located between the hub of the tourist district and the hub of transportation at Bismarckplatz. We enjoyed our time here. The room was a good size for a European hotel room, with a small table, a little balcony, and a little extra room. The bathroom was tiny, but perfectly adequate. The city was unseasonably hot when we were in town, so the lack of air-conditioning made it a little hard to sleep at night. But you'll find the same problem in all but the biggest hotels in Europe. Staff was very friendly. Only slight problem we had was having just one key for our room. I was in town for a conference and my fiance joined me for the trip. Since he was touring and I was working, it was hard to arrange our schedules around one key, particularly since our phones don't work in Europe and the front door to the hotel is locked after 8pm. Other than that minor issue, we had a great time at the Altstadt Hotel and would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location . good for 1-2 nights.

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: A/C , so one doesn't have to keep windows open and deal with street noise just so one can breathe .
Location: it's right on the main street . close to station as well .
very clean , small, well located . Needs A/C . Great for a short stay , without kids
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 8, 2016
no free wifi! also, came late on sunday and had a lot of problem getting in when it was unstaffed. could be sorted out with a phone call - but unfortunately my phone is not set up for calls abroad so be well assured yours is if you come at an odd hour. other than these issues, perfectly ok hotel
3 out of 5
by Michael from HSV, AL

Reasonably priced and comfortable.

Posted Dec 14, 2015 on Hotels
Reasonably priced hotel in the Alstadt district of Heidelburg. It was a bit difficult to find, as the hotel sign is very small. Parking is in the paid car parks located adjacent. Very friendly staff and nice breakfast. Got there around 10 a.m. and room was ready and I took a nice nap following a very early start in Koblenz taking friends to Frankfurt airport.
3 out of 5
by Richard from Falmouth

Great location, too much noise from rowdy night re

Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel is well located on the edge of the old town and ideal for the sights and many restaurants. Parking nearby is not easy ( I left my motorcycle on the road right outside but I don't think that went down well). Hotel is comfy with good beds and good breakfast. No air con so windows need to be opened at night when it is hot; unfortunately this lets in the noise of the young people who apprear to congregate near by EVERY NIGHT and make a lot of noise until the early hours of the morning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Easy walking distance to the sights

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels
I booked this room for my parents. They found it to be a beautiful, spacious and quiet room, with excellent breakfast, and pleasant and professional staff. The only drawback they found was that there was no elevator, so with carrying their luggage this was a bit of a problem. Otherwise they really enjoyed their stay.