Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Charles

Die Hirschgasse

Posted Oct 30, 2017 on Hotels
Loved the hotel and staff. Built in 1472. Mark Twain wrote about his experience there in book about his travels to Heidelberg. Bought a copy of the book at hotel. Will stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
A wonderful place and extremely welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Beautiful old building, with a great story

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: The history
Cons: A handyman.
Location: It is tucked away in a lovely location, near a main thoroughfare.
Beautiful! Lovely garden, great food,very friendly staff. Our 3 day stay was wonderful! A handy-man might be needed to clean or paint scuff marks on walls, to check plumbing drips, shampoo the carpet. However, those were very minor things, which did not overcome the delicious food, glorious staff and beautiful plants growing on the front of the building. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this small, lovely hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

The staff of this hotel is the very best

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Cons: The beds in at least one room.
Location: Heidelberg is an old city with lots of history, and this hotel is in a great place to see it all.
The staff of this hotel went over the top to assist us in every way when we found ourselves sick and in needs of lots of help with procuring doctors, new reservations, etc. They did so without complaint and in good humor through it all. The hotel is charming, historically interesting and Ina marvelous setting. The manager is happy to take the time to tell you about the history of the place in detail and is extremely knowledgeable. The hotel is great, but the staff takes it to superb.
5 out of 5
by Arthur

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived on a Friday and did not think to book the dinning room at the hotel in advance. They were totally booked but very kindly made reservations at another resturant in town. We had wine in the garden whuch was lovely and breakfast although very pricey was delicious. We were not impressed with the room accomodations but the staff are very helpful and it has a charming ambiance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
Only two types of breakfast either bread and coffee, or a big breakfast with deli meat, cheese, lox, yogurt, bread, egg and bacon. Wish there was an option in between.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from York, PA

Heidelberg

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Very Friendly Staff. A lot of cool history to the hotel.
5 out of 5
by haiqing

Lovely hotel for relaxing

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
We love this hotel, cute and lovely. We enjoyed the time we stayed.
5 out of 5
by Hanspeter from Golden

Quiet Luxury hotel with great charm

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels
Great little inn within easy walking distance to old town. The house has a lot of history as an Inn, going back to the 1400's. Wonderful suite with antique furniture.