Ratings based on 554 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Wotif
Had failed to specify a twin or double room as no option existed at the booking stage. Had forgotten to send e-mail through to confirm and was left with a double as opposed to a twin which was uncomfortanle with 2 x guys but I guess this is more of an issue with the booking format and my failure to e-mail the hotel directly.
3 out of 5
by Dilina

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
The room was very nice and on the second floor- except our room was not exactly on the 2nd floor, it was on the 2nd floor and then we had to lug our suitcases up three different short corridors and two staircases which was really inconvenient. other than that it was a nice hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Nice hotel 20 minutes walk from centre.

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Hotel bar is souless but nice bar and restaurant at the corner if you don't want to walk to the centre. Could do with some outside seating for guests. Nice open atrium inside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel - A long walk to the Castle

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Spent two night in NH in July, weather was very warm but the rooms were cool and sleeping was good. Hotel is clean with a nice lobby, I didn't use the Restaurant onsite. The staff was accommodating, I showed up early after an overnight flight and they found me a room so I could check in early. The hotel itself was nice. TV had CNN International as an English station which was ok, some of the other German hotels had slightly more selection. The only issue for me was the location. It was fairly close to the train station which was good. It's about 15 minute walk to the start of old town and then another 15 or more to the Castle which was a little farther then I would normally like, there wasn't really much that I wanted to do near the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Erdem

Great room, excellent location.

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
Great Hotel (renewed rooms) and service. However the corridors are like maze. It is walking distance to all touristic places. Try the nearby cafe Rosso!
4 out of 5
by Alyson

Great reception area, rooms slightly less good

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
Very good first impression - beautiful reception area and bars. Rooms were not so good. Bit tatty and not sparkling clean (not bad though). Seems they have spent a lot on the reception and not much on the rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 5, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Armin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 3, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Richard

The Good; the Bad and the City

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
The Hotel comprises 2 large 1927 Buildings joined by a glass architrave. Access to the hotel entrance from the street is limited and turning once in is difficult. Underground parking is available but costly at Euro21/night. The standard room is basic but clean. The superior room is larger and provides a kettle and coffee/tea makings. Big problem was the totally inadequate air-conditioning. With outside temperatures of 35 degees with high humidity, the room AC was useless and inside temperatures were so high it made it impossible to sleep. As the AC was centrally controlled, requests to the Reception were acknowledged but had little or no effect on the room temperature. This spoilt what could have been a pleasant stay. The cost of the room only was in excess of £165 but without being able to sleep because of the excessively high room temperature, was not money well spent. The Reception, Bar and Restaurant Service was excellent and friendly. And the food in the Restaurant was outstanding. The hotel has no "grounds" where it is possible to walk or sit outside, and this was understandable sitting in the middle of the City. The Conference Rooms were spacious, well equipped and the AC worked well, as it also did in the Hotel foyer area. Overall, many good points but when paying a reasonably high price for a Room which is untolerably hot because of inefficient AC, it turns towards an unfavourable report. The City and its Castle and river make it an attractive location.