Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
42% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2013
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by Rob


Posted Oct 15, 2012
The Roadway Inn was recently cleaned up and is under new management. Steve at the front desk was super helpful during Oktoberfest. Obviously it's not a 5 star hotel, but for what it is, it's a great place. I plan on making reservations for next year!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Sep 24, 2012
Pros: the price I suppose
Cons: Too run down
Location: ok
Now I rated this hotel as disappointing BUT I the staff was wonderful. In talking with the staff I understand they just bought this hotel and are working on the improvements. Much needed improvements, in saying that I might have to check them out at a later date.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by Lonnie from Rome, GA, USA

Under New Management!!!

Posted Jul 8, 2012
Pros: The best things about this hotel are the price and location...and the management bending over backwards to make sure our stay was pleasant...
Cons: The least favorite thing was that there was no complimentary breakfast. I guess I'm just use to that convenience.
Location: The location was great...just as we entered town and near a water park and the local shops.
This hotel is in a great location and had a really good price. The condition of the hotel left something to be desired, but in fairness, the hotel is under new management and had only gotten there a week prior to our visit. My kids enjoyed the pool. There is work that needs to be done, and it looks like the new management is doing what is needed to be done to get the place back where it needs to be. For the money, not a bad place at all though. I would stay there again and recommend it to others.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Jun 17, 2012
Four people in my party only had two towels. Had to go ask for more coffee, sugar and they acted like it was an inpostion to get me any of the items i requested. I even went to the gas station and bought creamer because when i asked for more suger they gave me one packet. The walls were written on with black marker and the shower head needed to be fixed, it not only sprayed the ceiling along with you. By far the worst hotel I've stayed in in a long time
2 out of 5
by Rudy from Savannah, GA, USA

Roachway Inn

Posted May 22, 2012
Our washcloths were stained, the iron was missing, one of the chairs had an iron burn in the seat (presumably why the iron was gone), the beds sunk in the middle, the walls were disgusting (needed a good wipe down), pool was green, toilet was gross and a friend of ours downstairs had roaches. It was comfortable enough, but was pretty gross (the office smelled like cigarettes and mold). Staff seemed nice though-- the rest-- YUCK!
1 out of 5
by Frank from North Wales

A Disaster waiting to happen

Posted Apr 20, 2012
Cons: The general state of disrepair of the room.
This motel is a disaster waiting to happen. I have never seen so many screws hanging out of wall plugs. The electrical socket in which the hair dryer connected was loose and when touched caused the lights to flicker. The hotel staff seemed disinterested and did not respond positively to any requests. The hotel needs a drastic overhaul if it is to live up to the hich standard of this motel group.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, GA

One step above camping

Posted Nov 29, 2011
Location: Closer in to town. This is on the far south end of Helen and is too far to walk comfortably. Just about everywhere in town charges for parking.
First off, I guess I can't complain too terribly much. It WAS cheap and I don't know what I really expected for cheap money, but I was thinking it'd be a bit more than this. I joked to my wife that it was a step above camping but then she brought up the point that with camping you can sleep on a semi-comfortable air matress. The bed was downright AWFUL and was just brutal on our backsides. The lamp fell off the wall when my wife just touched the switch (turns out it was being held to the wall with a single 1/4" sheet metal screw into drywall). What really cheezed me off and made me realized just how cheap the people running this place are was that we got one tiny bar of soap and one tiny bottle of shampoo for two people FOR the entire 3 night stay. They never replaced any of it. Apparently to economize, they even removed the knobs in the mini fridge and the heat lamp in the bathroom so you really couldn't adjust anything. The towels and sheets were of the very lowest quality (I've got better car rags than that) and the pillows were just about three cotton balls tossed in a cloth bag. Having said all that, the heater worked as did most of the channels on the old TV. There was a mini fridge which got things a bit down below room temperature and the shower was nice and warm (although the paint was peeling off the walls in the shower). I guess I got what I paid for so it wasn't just terrible, but it was anything but nice. Just can't see going back.
4 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Served its purpose

Posted Jul 12, 2011
This hotel is located within walking distance of Helen, just over a half mile to town. Which was AWESOME!! I enjoy walking, there's sidewalks the entire walk. The hotel is right in front of the Cool River Tubing Co. (2.5 hr trip down the Chattahoohcee River), you can see it right behind the hotel. It is also super close to the Helen Tubing Co.(the town of Helen is the furthest). All we wanted was some place cheap to sleep. Sheets were clean, room smelt better after the air was on for about 10 mins, paint was peeling around the tub, toilet handle had to be held to flush, shower didn't work, so bath only for our room 206, no fridge or microwave in our room. No problem with leaving our stuff in the room, OR our car in the parking lot. No problem walking at night two females, and two kids. Walk to gas stations, restaurants, cafes, bars, shops, river, and NUMEROUS attractions (the bears and feeding them was AWESOME!!). The staff was VERY courteous at the hotel! The pool was very clean. Also, we needed a dog friendly hotel and this was it, only $10 per night for a dog, perfect! My mom, myself, and my kids would stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ATLANTA GA

not impressed

Posted Apr 15, 2011
hand towel used or dirty, pillow had blood and stain all over under the pillow cover room very dirty no breakfast as stated door closed, experience very poor i guess thats the low price.