Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Great experience. Rooms were clean and spacious. Lake view was very nice. We will be back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA.

You can paint a garbage can red but it's still a..

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Pros: Decent breakfast, cozy lobby with fireplace, free cookies
Cons: Non-existent parking lot lighting, room decor, room amenities, room furniture/fixtures, room lighting, elimination of extension cords in rooms.
Location: I was here on a business trip. This area is basically in the middle of nowhere. A few restaurants and gas stations around and of course, there's a mar
This is an old hotel (they call a resort) and it shows it's age. My room had visible mold. The mattress was sagged out and lop-sided. The pillows smelled of "oldness" and human funk. They were also sagged out and basically useless. The room was furnished in very dark brown and was depressing by appearance alone. The compact fridge made a lot of noise as it cycled, the thru-wall AC unit wouldn't maintain consistent temperature, noisy bathroom fan plus, the clothes rack was located in the damp, un-ventilated bathroom. The TV set was very small and I needed glasses to view it. Rooms of this quality level typically go for $59. a night on average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Brian from Charlotte

Great stay for the price

Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice place, large rooms, friendly staff, great price. Would not hesitate to stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Smyrna, GA

Beautiful resort on the lake

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Location: We did not use the marina but will next time. Good restaurants near by. The breakfast we had there the next morning was good.
The resort grounds are beautiful. The staff was super. The town of Hiawasee lost power for about 1-1/5 - 2 hours. The staff did everything possible to make us comfortable during that time. Special touches included fresh cookies and juice.. This was before the loss of power. The resort does smores by the fire pit every night for guests. The bed was not comfortable. When I asked about it the next morning, I was told that they had new bedding on order and gave me a discount for my next stay. We will be going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by susan from Vero beach, Fl

peaceful, relaxing and beautiful

Posted Sep 12, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful! Relaxing! We are planning another weekend for winter
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Lovely lake front property

Posted Sep 10, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay very much at this lovely property. The only negative was some sort of marketing gathering going on that brought in a bus load of senior citizens and a hallway full of slick looking salesmen, which only affected our stay in that they monopolized some of the amenities, such as the evening fire pit (free s'mores offered)and the very pretty lobby areas were sometimes crowded with these folks. I suspect a timeshare marketing operation was in progress...Otherwise - nice room, beautiful grounds, very courteous staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Justin from Orlando

The sweet spot

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed here with the wife and kids (4 & 2 years old) You never know what to expect at a hotel with kids this age but it was perfect. Fire pit out back for s'mores, rented a canoe in the morning after free breakfast. I told my parents about this place, they will be taking a getaway ASAP at this location. The only thing that was kinda was bad the Blue Otter (restaurant) it was packed and they only had 2 or 3 people running it. Thankfully the server served us because of the kids, otherwise it woulda been a 1 hr wait just to sit. I'm sure it didn't make others happy but it saved the sanity of two parents and those around us by getting food in the kids ASAP.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Carolyn

Beautiful, rustic resort with lovely decor

Posted Sep 5, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed with a group golfing in the area for three days. The entrance way and main lounges [up and down] are rustic, high ceilings, lots of wood, comfy furniture, fireplaces, decor coordinated throughout the resort. Just enough off the highway, on a lake, next to Marina, to make it feel relaxing, safe, and lovely setting. There is a bar in the main lobby. Great eating places within 5 miles either way. Breakfast was 4 cereal choices, different muffins/breads each day, scrambled eggs [altho unless you get there early, they get dried out], corn grits [great..stone ground, not like you get most places], different meat each day, french toast, nice juices. They have coffee and teas out 24 hr; fresh cookie assortment in late afternoon, Smores over a fire pit after dark. One caution..the hotel is not handicap friendly. The eating area and large lounge looking out over gardens and lake is 4 steps down from the entrance lobby and persons with mobility issues have difficulty getting to the food and participating in group activities. The front doors are beautiful wood, but too heavy for a person in a walker or wheelchair, perhaps even a cane, to open.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nicest in Hiawassee

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: Convenient location, on-site restaurant was good, on-site activities were fun for families.
Cons: Ready for upgrades/re-freshening. Furniture is worn, chairs have no support left, the outside of the building needs paint, pool was green.
The Ridges Resort is probably the nicest lodging in Hiawassee. We paid for the upgraded "lake view" rooms, which were exactly the same as the 'regular" rooms, except we looked in the direction of the lake instead of overlooking the parking lot. That is to say, you could see little glimpses of the lake through the trees, but not a panoramic view by any means.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by G. Marcella from Walchwil, CH

Relaxing, quiet stay at the lake.

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice view from the Lake room. Quiet. Helpful and very friendly staff. Breakfast is only okay, but nothing special. The bar has only a little variation, no Champagner or Sparking wine ;-((