Ratings based on 574 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: It was a good value, passably clean and laid out and the pool was lovely.
Cons: Remodel, elevator, bigger, functional hot tub
Location: We visited the capitol building and the historical museum.
We stayed 2 nights here, and it was comfortable and the pool was nice. Our first rooms assigned were on the 3rd floor, which would have been a challenge without a working elevator. Staff on duty arranged other rooms, adjoining, on the first floor, which worked out well. The hot tub was down, which was disappointing. There were some young people with the 'secure' door propped open when we arrived and on the 2nd night, there was police activity. Breakfast was minimal, no tables in lobby but tables in room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Social media , Hotel Management
Dear Shilo Guest, It is wonderful to hear that your time at our hotel was comfortable and that you enjoyed our pool. We do hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Helena.  Thank-you for taking time to post a review of your stay for other travelers! Sincerely, Kathy Carey General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon

Pay for what you get!

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Our stay was exactly what we thought. A clean comfortable bed to spend the night as we travelled through town. Would stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Social media , Hotel Management
Dear Shilo guest: We do hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Helena.  A clean and comfortable room and bed is always our goal for our guests and we are very happy to know this is exactly what you found.  We appreciate that you took time to post a review. Sincerley, Kathy Carey General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monear

bad experience

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: the swimming pool and sauna was ok
Cons: have some quality control and room inspections
Location: food, gas,grocery store casino close to area
checked in, went to our room turned on A/C ,went and unloaded our car opened refrigerator and it had gross food left over from previous tenant ,then the A/C stopped working ,we called front desk ,it took 2 hours for them to get some one to the room to clean refrigerator and repair A/C ,we went to dinner for an hour and came back only to find that we had to move to another room ,we packed up and moved only to get to the new room and find that it was also filthy refrigerator had food in it and dirty , the shower had old soap bar and had not been wiped out, the bed spread had a nasty gross stain ,there was garbage under the bed we talked to the office and got nowhere
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Social media , Hotel Management
Dear Shilo Guest, I have contacted the head of our housekeeping department and shared this review with the entire housekeeping department.  Our apologies to you for the problems you had at our hotel during your stay with us. Our goal is attention to detail at all times to provide comfortable clean rooms for our guests. I will find out how these 2 rooms did not meet our goals. I very much appreciate that you let us know. Our guests are many times our learning tools. Sincerely, Kathy Carey General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Nice people

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Staff over the moon helpful.
Cons: Pool too small and warm. No shower there.
Location: LOVED Helena. Beautiful and interesting town. Montana Capital. Mining history. Reeders Alley cabins. Cheap gas. Friendly people. We would go again.
Good location, helpful staff, and very pleasant. Food nearby. Parking very close. Room OK. Cheap.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Trip back in time

Posted May 17, 2017
Room was a little dirty. beds were not completely made. Sheets not fit to beds all the way. Definitely needs an upgrade. Outdated microwave, tv, etc. hotel still using metal keys Tv was the old tube tv. Very poor quality during a time when flat screen tvs are very inexpensive staff was friendly and helpful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Not Fabulous, but Efficient

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Convenient location, reasonable price, nothing major to complain about
Cons: Just a basic general overhaul — it's an aging property, that seems to have been managed with love for the most part and remodels are costly....
Location: Within walking distance of groceries and restaurants, not far from downtown and other entertainments
The bed was a little lopsided and lumpy, but comfortable enough. The room could use new carpet and furniture — the whole place would benefit from a general upgrade, but for the price it was fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Billings, MT

Parking with a trailer is a problem

Posted May 10, 2017
Cons: An elevator would be nice
Parking with a trailer is A PROBLEM. Clearance is only 9' 9". I had to park on the street because my enclosed trailer is 10'
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by social media , Hotel Management
Dear Shilo Guest, The first entrance to our hotel does have an overhang with a clearance minimum. Thank-you for your attention to this for It is appreciated! The second entrance has no overhang, so for future stays with us please use the second entrance on your next visit when pulling a trailer. Thank-you for taking time to post a comment and we do hope you will choose to stay with us again. Sincerely, Kathy Carey General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB, Canada

Very warm pool

Posted May 5, 2017
Nice motel. Clean room. Walking distance to restaurants. The indoor pool was very warm. Nice hot tub, sauna, and change rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by social media , Hotel Management
Dear Shilo Guest, We are so glad to know that your accommodations were clean and that you enjoyed our pool, sauna, and steam room! Thank-you for taking your time to write a review and we do hope you choose to stay with us again very soon. Sincerely, Kathy Carey General Manager 
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Helena, Mt

Enjoyed😊

Posted May 5, 2017
Peaceful, nice staff, 24hour pool, hot tub, sauna, & steam room.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by social media , Hotel Management
Dear Shilo Guest, It is so nice to hear from you about your stay with us in Helena. We are happy to know that your stay was enjoyable for you. We do hope you choose to stay with us again very soon. Sincerely, Kathy Carey General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs an Update

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: There was nothing that I liked about this hotel.
Cons: New sheets, the bed spreads had stains on them, holes in them, etc. They have over seen their useful life.
The rooms and bedding definitely need an update and it appeared as though the hotel staff could use a training on how to use their check-in software as well. They claim to have a continental breakfast, but don't plan on getting any more than a bran muffin and some cereal out of a prepackaged bowl (milk I did not readily see, so could be the dry cereal breakfast).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by social media , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate and welcome your comments, and are continuously working to make our guest experience more comfortable and pleasant. Thank you, Kathy Carey, GM