Ratings based on 505 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montana

“Cheryl” the manager was memorably rude...

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: The pool.
Cons: New treadmill, customer service training for manager “Cheryl”
Location: Helena has a lot of outdoor adventures!
The Windgate has seen better days. It used to be one of the best hotels in Helena. I was especially disappointed with the manager “Cheryl.” She was incredibly rude to me on the phone when I was trying to work out my reservations. I will not stay there again. The pool was nice though! And James at the front desk made up for the managers rudeness by upgrading my room. I’d recommend his help!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not quite what hoped for based on the price

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: Close to interstate.
Cons: Update furnishings or lower the price. If you are going to include breakfast, have someone watching it closely.
Location: Good location.
Made reservation when availability was low, so price for room was high. Room was clean, but a bit dated. Also, we only had one shower towel and didn't realize until morning. Breakfast was not well monitored and some items were completely empty. There was only one other person there eating, so not a rush. Not what I had hoped for.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mobile al

Hotel in disrepair

Posted Nov 5, 2017
We stayed at this hotel a week ago nd it was fabulous. I gave it all 5 stars. However a week later it was totally different. Our heater didn’t work so maintenance came and said “it’s going out all thru the building. It’s just old and they haven’t fixed it”. Now that may be ok in summer but this night it was 9 degrees. The telephone didn’t work. Couldn’t call for a wake up. They did bring in a space heater (which scared me to death). This is not a “cheap” hotel so you would expect better. We had one out of two good nights so I probably wouldn’t take a chance again. The bed were comfortable and the people were extremely nice. But it was COLD!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Moses Lake, WA

Staff not Friendly

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Checked in and was informed by a very unfriendly staff person that we needed to pay an additional $50 for our 4lb dog.... ok. We requested a main floor room which we were told not available. We checked in to our room, #209, the carpet was stained and the room smelled bad. We opened a window to air it out. Housekeeping had dusted around the tv for so long that there was build up of dust. There was no cream or sugar left by housekeeping. When we checked out there was an additional bill of $20... I asked the clerk what it was for? He said “incidenals”. He would not explain what those were. I want an explanation and a the $20 returned. Overall not the best experience
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent location

Posted Oct 29, 2017
The carpet in the room was filthy, there were multiple stains. The bed and bathroom however were clean. Breakfast was standard, nothing special. Overall a fair stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alabama

Great place!

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: Great value for money!
Cons: Nothing!
The staff was great & made some dinner recommendations and suggestion for sites! Room was perfect! Bed was comfy! Will stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great breakfast.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the highway and breakfast.
Cons: The smell of cleaning products.
I was driving from Canada to Phoenix and stopped here for one night. The hotel is very close to I-15, which made it handy, and the breakfast was extensive with home cooked biscuits and gravy, yum.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Collins, Co

Close to the airport is this hotels best qualiry

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Checked in at 9:30 to two you men chatting it up in the corner behind the desk. Seemed "put out" that I had to be checked in and that I was interruption to their conversation. Room bed was lop sided and lumpy. Big stain on the carpet and previous guests peanuts on the floor. Walls are paper thin as I could hear every word the guests next to me were saying. to top it off some ones dog started barking around 10:30 at night and went on for about 20 minutes. Would not stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Last review was not so good. Much better experience this time and we were treated very well by front desk staff. Hotel should replace their worn towels. Pretty thin and some holes on the bath towels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The room was OK,

Posted Sep 21, 2017
The room was OK but not really worth the price. The staff was pleasant and friendly, but I would probably not stay there again