Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Apr 17, 2020 on HomeAway
Stayed in Hellnar for a few days. Location is perfect for sightseeing around Snæfellsnes. Property is a great fit for 4-5 persons, can highly recomend it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2020 by VrboOwner, Hotel Management
Great to have you, welcome back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Getting away from it all

Posted Sep 18, 2019 on HomeAway
Blissfully peaceful, on the edge of the National Park. Loved the location and would use it again as a starting point for going further North. There is a great cafe down in the cove and a good restaurant at the Foss Hotel if you don't want to cook. Property is warm and would be a good spot for the Northern Lights if the clouds parted, you soon get used to the 24 hour 'breeze' Plenty of places of Interest and walking is fantastic. Do yourself a favour, book in and let the world drop away
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely house for small group

Posted Aug 7, 2019 on HomeAway
The house itself is extremely nice, light and well furnished. The location is pleasant and quiet. It is in a small enclave of houses on top of the hill with a ten minute, fairly steep walk to the beach. Birdlife can be seen from the comfort of your sofa! The bathroom is small with no real space to hang towels. We were just two people and I am not sure how a group of six would manage. Likewise with washing and drying the bedding at the end of the stay. It took us 3 hours to wash and dry for just two people. Bedrooms are also small with not much walking space around the beds. But we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this house for a party up to 4 people. It is so much nicer than staying in a hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2019
Beautiful view of the glacier and the ocean!!! Good location and quiet. Washer and dryer was nice to have as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect if you like it quiet

Posted Aug 3, 2019 on HomeAway
This is the perfect place to go to relax and enjoy the peninsula. The house is in a little cluster of 12 cottages from where you have amazing views of the glacier and mountains. Great house with everything you need for a perfect stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Allow time

Posted Jul 15, 2019 on HomeAway
Everything was just as listed and with a great location. I was not a fan of having to clean the place and wash sheets/towels prior to leaving. Add 3 hours for the wash to clean and dry. I would have rather paid a fee to have this done.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Oaks

Enchanting

Posted Sep 11, 2018 on HomeAway
Loved this cottage! We were expecting to use this as a base to travel around Iceland. What we discovered was a quaint small town with these clusters of cottages. A glacier in the backyard and the ocean in the front. The kitchen is fully stocked with all the cooking utensils and dishes you need. The staircase to the upper floor is steep and not made for anyone that has any physical difficulties. Getting laundry and cleaning the cottage takes some careful planning. Enjoyed the cafes in the area. Much to see and do on the peninsula.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect spot for our family of four to explore the Snæfellsness Peninsula

Posted Aug 1, 2018 on HomeAway
We have two teens, so having three bedrooms was great. Kitchen had everything we needed and we cooked most meals there. Views of the ocean and Stapafell were amazing, and we spent lots of time down at the Hellnar cove and on the hike to Arnarstapi. The only drawbacks were having to wash our linens before leaving. If you are in a rush to get going on your last day, it will delay travel waiting for several loads of laundry to get done. Other than that, it was perfect and I highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The cottage exceeded all expectations. Beautiful artwork, exceptional design, very comfortable.

Posted Jul 19, 2018 on HomeAway
This was the perfect home and location for our family holiday (3 of us). We fell in love with the cottage. It was warm and cozy, yet larger than we had anticipated (based on the photos), which was a bonus. The layout and design of the cottage is brilliant. You feel it. We loved the artwork throughout the cottage, and appreciated the handsome dining room table and chairs. It is clear that this is someone’s cherished home and not just a rental. We love finding places like this to stay and are so grateful to the owners for sharing their lovely home. The living room furniture is so comfortable. I spent a lot of time curled up in one of the big leather armchairs reading with a glass of wine. The kitchen was very well equipped. We cooked all of our meals for 4 days and had everything we needed. Lots of basics in the cupboard, like sugar, oil, etc. Very comfortable beds. The setting on Snæfellsnes speaks for itself. It was our second time staying in this area of Iceland and I hope it won’t be our last. Our 5 year old’s favorite activities were the tour of the lava tube/cave and the excursion to the summit of the glacier. It was a very grey, cloudy day, but when we reached the top we were above the clouds and blessed with blue sky, sun, and phenomenal views of the north side on the Peninsula. We really hope to return someday. Incredible value for Iceland. Thanks to owners for such a lovely home.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hellyeah!

Posted Jul 12, 2018 on HomeAway
I loved this place in Hellnar. It was perfect for me and my 3 grown kids plus a friend. We had a fantastic time exploring the area. The house was clean, open, fresh, tons of windows and fresh air.