Ratings based on 648 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great central hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2017
The staff were excellent! We needed documentation printed and scanned for a medical insurance claim and the staff were exceptional in their assistance. They even helped in calling and translating with local medical authorities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mak

Nice central and quiet hotel

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Central location. Staff polite and helpful. Bathroom drainage needs a little touch up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

easy walking from train station

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: nice breakfast, on site restaurant, clean
Location: a couple of block to train station, safe walk
small room but comfortable bed and quiet room. Good on site restaurant, great breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Central to Main Shopping Street, many shops

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: The room is roomy, layout is good and usage items well provided, it is definite well put together.
Cons: We got this staff when we check in keep "recommending" a Swedish restaurant for lunch and dinner when we just asked a simple place to snack around 2 pm. He also very vague on answering our question and give direction.
Location: Situates between 2 main Shopping Aves, near the out door market by the seaport ( that has ferries to Castle Island)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

I would stay here again!

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: The location is prime. Shopping, restaurants, train station and ferry terminals are just walking distance away. Many Museums and market too. The breakfast was just great. On our 2nd visit, we were offered to top-up (very little) for an upgrade, the room were almost two times the size of our first stay. Very please!
Cons: Not that I can think of. If the lobby were a little more spacious and the front office can provide a little more local information.
Location: All my likes of the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sjngapore

Okay only

Posted Oct 18, 2016
We stay in the glo lux room however the body lotion was not refill after we have use up also they just provide 2 small packet for a day useage . Also the sea salt was not being refilled on the third day same for the minerL water for discovery member overall just okay only as the hotel was quite far from the airport shuttle bus u need to walk about 8-10 mins with a laggage .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Nice, but ordinary downtown hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Wonderful location.
Cons: Stop trying to up sell guests at breakfast and provide the best breakfast you reasonably can.
Location: This is in the center of Helsinki. Everything is nearby.
My wife and I stayed at this hotel in downtown Helsinki in early October 2016. It is a fine hotel that is near the center of the Esplanade just behind the Hotel Kamp. It is a tremendous location. It is in the center of everything. Our “GLO Comfort Double” was small with little seating area and a small closet. Life in this room was cramped. The floor level glass shower enclosure had great pressure and warmth but runoff flowed under the door and made the bathroom wet. The lobby was limited. We were never made aware of a comfortable public lobby space to provide relief from the cramped room other than the bar/lounge area. The buffet breakfast was fine, but inferior to the other 4 hotels we stayed at on this trip including the GLO Art Hotel, a 15 minute walk to the west. The 4 hot items were bacon, scrambled eggs, porridge and beans, but did not include any kind of sausage. They were willing to sell us additional breakfast items, that some other hotels we stayed at on this trip provided on a complementary basis. In my opinion, this hotel was a 3 star to 3 and ½ star hotel, but not a true 4 star hotel. It was well maintained and service was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newburyport, MA

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: The hotel in the middle of jewelry district. Great restaurants nearby. I recommend Yume, a delicious Asian fusion restaurant two doors down the road.
Well designed comfortable rooms in a great pedestrian area of Helsinki. Breakfast was very good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Very good situation

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Situation near the harbour.
Cons: It was too dark for us pensioners. Good for business travellers. No miniature bath products!
Location: Gorgeous harbour and esplanade with wonderful restaurants.
First room shown, window didn't open, air-con didn't work. Staff very helpful. Better room found. Sunday, so bar and restaurant closed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good location

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Clean breakfast crockery.
Location: Plenty of shops and cafes nearby. Nice park. Harbour and market. Lutheran and Orthodox Cathedrals nearby. Art gallery.
The location of the hotel is central, near the railway station, and close to what there is to see and do. The room we had was small but fine for one night. The problem was functionality and the fact that it was assumed to be self evident. We never worked out how to ventilate the toilet which became unbearable hot. We were leaving before we worked out how to empty the sink (press on the chrome base at the bottom of the dirty water) or use the shower without wetting the floor in front of the door. Breakfast was marred by unclean crockery (and all too common occurrence in European hotels). The staff were helpful if you asked. Hotel fine for a short stay.