Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belarus

Feel like at home there

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: room comfort, excellent breakfast
Location: shopping mall close to the train station
The hotel has everything you need there: kitchen facilities, sauna, comfortable bed. It is 10 min walk from the train station and shopping centers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London Ontario Canada

Very good hotel for the money.

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: Price, clean, breakfast.
Cons: Nil
Location: 15 minute from train and shopping center by foot.
Very good hotel for value. 15 minute walk to train where there is also a large shopping mall. 15 minutes on the train to downtown Helsinki. The hotel was clean and had a nice breakfast included. You really cant go wrong for the dollar (euro). Its a bit out of the way, but the train into town is easy and convenient. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Large room, comfortable and clean

Posted Nov 28, 2015
Not the typical corporate hotel but close to highway, comfortable and clean. Bathroom needs updating but with crisp sheets, thick towels, fast internet, it was overall a very comfortable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, England

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Pros: Good facilities, helpful staff, nice location
Cons: Restaurant on site in the evenings would be good
Location: It's very easy to get into Helsinki which gives you access to all of the local attractions and some amazing restaurants.
We really enjoyed staying here. The room was spacious and well equipped. We loved the fact that the local area was so quite and peaceful. The staff were very helpful and always available. It's about 10 minutes from the train station but a very easy commute into Helsinki. The only downside was that the night we arrived (about 10.30 pm) we were unable to find any food in the area so if you are checking in late I recommend that you take something with you. The buffet breakfast was good. We will definitely use again, really good value
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Helsinki, Finland

Personable Help

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Taxi service to the Train Depot was fast. Room was comfortable. Office service was excellent in answering questions. Breakfast great
Cons: Windows would not open more than 2". Screens on several windows would have been great.
Location: Not much shopping nearby. However, shopping is available at the Train Stop, a short taxi drive there.
After walking from a bus stop (about 1/2 mile) pulling our suitcases, not knowing just where the hotel was located, we found a father walking with his children. Asked the man if he knew where the Hellsten Hotel was located, he said "follow me", I'm going there.The room was ready for four persons as reserved. Very comfortable. Would recomend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California, U.S.A

Reasonable hotel in Espoo, Finland

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Staff, food, kitchen, price, location, near train station and mall, free washer and dryer.
Cons: Hotel could look into trustworthy taxi company to help visitors. Nearby taxis are ok because they come quickly however we had so many bad experiences
Location: Sello mall
This is our 3rd year staying at this hotel. We like it very much and would stay here again. We need a kitchen and breakfast. This hotel provides both. It's very quiet in the common area. There is empty area nearby for kids to play. It's near Sello mall and few train hops to Helsinki.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A peaceful place to relax

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The staff, the quiet, and the atmosphere.
Cons: Nothing really I liked everything.
Location: Easy walk to the mall and bus/train station. Train takes about 15 min to get to Helsinki. Resonably priced tickets.
Although some travelers may find some aminities lacking the Hellsten provides the comfort of home away from home. The room was clean and adequatly stocked with what is needed. The beds were comfortable. Cleaning services comes about once every three days. The staff are what made this place great. Everyone was kind and pleasant and ready to help a first time world travelor get his bearings. The sauna is a must try. Try and hit the sauna your first night as it will help with jet lag immensely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 15, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2013
Pros: proximity to the town and Helsinki.
Cons: having a training center/gym.
I had to get 5-6 different in order to find a room with a non-smelly bathroom. Eventually one was found in the 3rd floor with an amazing view to tall pine trees!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay

Posted Aug 2, 2013
Pros: Courteous and helpful staff
Cons: Add room service
Location: Wish you were closer to Helsinki
Enjoyed the visit. Finland is a great country. The people are very friendly.