Ratings based on 1,016 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but poor service

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Adequate accommodation but very poor service from the reception staff to a request for a sink plug which never appeared after two separate requests over 5 days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice location

Posted Aug 21, 2017
We were pleased to stay in this hotel which is located very close to the train station and museums etc. The staff members are helpful. Overall, it is nice location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Jaana Front desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind feedback. Nice to hear that your stay with us was successful. Welcome again! Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Clean and comfortable

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Our one bedroom apartment was spacious and clean and had everything you need, including washing up liquid and toilet roll. The beds were good and our bedroom facing the courtyard was very quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the location is good- nice local restaurants and bars (try Kuu Kuu on the same street, amazing food!). The only negative was there were stains on the settee and armchair and the furniture looked a bit worn out. I would definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cheltenham uk

Close to the centre

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Facilities in room were tired especially the bathroom.
Location: Very close to the rock church, parliament, finlandia hall, 10 minutes walk from railway station, in a wonderful Art Nouveau area.
I chose this as I was on a budget and wanted to be close to the centre of the city, excellent location, good informative helpful staff, but could do with sprucing up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

Nice hotel close to city centre.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Nice little hotel. Close to city centre,about 10 mins walking. There is a lovely little cafe across the street. Kitchenette was nice to have. Bed was very comfortable. Nice place to lay head down when not exploring, also affordable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

All ok

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Good location
Cons: Would like breakfast provided
Location: Good location close to railway station
Good experience , would return , close to everything , very large 2 roomed apartment
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philly

nice place close to the train station

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: close to the train station, kitchenette will save you money on eating out every day.
Cons: obviously, better beds!!
Location: right near the National museum (across the street!!) and near the train station. about 20 minute walk to the Kluuvi and Esplanadi area.
i had a lovely stay at hellsten apartments. the staff were courteous and helpful. the room was clean, and having a kitchenette was very economical. there is a supermarket near the train station, and i would buy food for a few days and had breakfasts and dinners in my room. the only problem i had was the bed. i have a bad back, and the bed was a box spring with a thin pad instead of a mattress. this was a problem, and my back hurt for a few days, and was never at a 100 % during my stay. if i had known of this i might have stayed elsewhere. other than that, it was a great stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spacious room, but requires update

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Spacious room, laundry facilities
Cons: The hotel rooms definitely require update / renovation
Location: It is closed to the Rock Church, and not too far away from Central Station
The room was spacious. The laundry facility (free) was a plus. It was a bit outdated however with paint peeling off and stained toilets. But given the price I could hardly complain. The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood not too far away from central station. Beware there is no restaurant, and the cafe across the street is closed on Sunday, so if you require breakfast you better prepare ahead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

With everything within walking distance

Posted May 17, 2017
A comfortable hotel located on a quiet street close to city centre, with less than 15 minutes' walk to central railway station. Apart from the National Museum nearby, there is also a lake along which lies a spacious park. While walking to the port area including the market square is possible, you may take the trams with stops near the hotel. My stay could have been a perfect experience if the shower area of my room had been bigger.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Copenhagen

nice apartment hotel in a good location

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: - Spacious room - Excellent blackout curtains - Ability to prepare own meals and cook
Cons: - A very faint odor from the kitchen sink, it wasn't unpleasant per se, but it was a bit unusual
Location: - Shopping - Concerts - Bars - General nightlife - Cycling
This is a nice place to stay. I'd recommend it for anyone looking for easy access to the city, since it was only a 10 minute walk from the hotel to the main city square area. There are also convenient tram stops nearby which can take you to the two ports in Helsinki if you are looking to travel to Tallinn as well. It's also located quite close to the central station as well, so it's easy to walk to if you decide to take a train to and from the airport.