Ratings based on 2,298 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Below average

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Hotel for me is an experience and not just a room to sleep. This hotel is bland, with no personality or flavor. Staff are helpful yet they lack the basic hotel service culture. Lobby staff are loud, and not accommodating. The breakfast is below average, limited selection, cole food and no flair. There were signs that mention that the hotel is renovating. I honestly see that they need to renovate inside out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2017 by Oona, service manager, Hotel Management
Hello Anonymous, I am sorry to hear we could not meet your expectations. We are renovating the whole hotel at the moment, our new look will be ready next year February. We are trying to be better in every aspect so I thank you for your feedback.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: The hotel was clean and well presented.
Cons: The main thing lacking is a good sized restaurant area with a wide range of food. What was offered was a bar area with a few tables and a limited menu
A nice enough place to stay in a convenient location for my business trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, satisfied

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Sauna, staff, interior, breakfast are good.
Cons: Screws should be screwed. Soap should be on basin.
Location: Bike rent station to the west.
Located in walkable or cyclable distance from Forum and Railway station. Almost everything is good: staff, interior, breakfast. Has sauna as many Finnish hotels. There are couple of small unpleasant things. First, there was no soap in room, I was explicitly told on reception that they have only shower gel and shampoo in shower cabin. And it's not possible to get this shower gel from shower cabin to basin. I had to pour gel in shower cabin and wash hand in basin. Inconvenient. Second, glass "curtain" which formed shower cabin had one screw which was sticking out, not screwed in completely.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geneva

Boutique hotel close to city

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Reasonably convenient to city and other sites. Furnished with classic Finnish design pieces.
Cons: Breakfast is very average with very limited selection of teas, hot food, jams and pastries.
Location: Reasonably convenient to the city. Close to the Rock Church and National Museum of Finland.
Hotel was comfortable but nothing special. Rooms were small and breakfast average. Arrived from airport at 7:00 am after a 22 hours flying but couldn't check in until 3:00 pm. Only place to change was in a toilet cubicle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Apr 15, 2017
I was expecting much less. But the room, although small, was more than i needed. The bathroom was huge. The breakfast had a good variety; hot and cold. Close to everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by Vellu, Hotel Management
Thank you for your nice comment. Nice to hear that we suprised you positively. See you soon again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels
Standard, Finnish quality, no complain. I recommmend.
4 out of 5
by Annie

Convenient and clean hotel

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
Very helpful and efficient receptionist who helped arranged airport taxi at last minute upon checkout at 3am on Monday 27 Feb, sorry forgot to ask her name ( when own transport could not make it) - this is one of the things that make a lasting impression on departing guests.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Convenient, adequate, simple but not like in photo

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Hotel Helka was just like what they said to be 5 min from the Kamppi Station. Did not have much problems finding the hotel. When we arrived we were also greeted by friendly staff. The disappointment was that the room did not look as good as what was shown on the photos. All the necessities were available and wifi working well but the room looked quite old and smaller than imagined. We only had a day's stay so we could not use the sauna. The breakfast was great though!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Finland

Helsinki center.

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Excellent service and delicious food. Very close to shopping. And hotel provided parking for car or small fee.