Ratings based on 2,465 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Nice hotel close to the central rail station

Posted Oct 2, 2017
The rooms in the hotel are pretty small (by American standards) so I probably wouldn't stay there for two weeks. It is pretty cozy, quiet, and comfortable though. Breakfast is tasty and has good variety. Staff is helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent location and first class Hotel.

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Location is excellent
Location: As stated just 2 mins from metro and a strool from central station.
The Hotel Helka was featured in the uk paper The independent "48 hours in Helsinki, back in 2011 and I booked the hotel on this recommendation. Under 10 mins from Central station,via a cycle lane/walk way ( a former freight line to the docks). The metro station Kamppi is only 2 mins away. Rock church 5 min away and various museums near. Hotel has sauna which I did not use but seemed very popular. Breakfast was varied and plentiful. In all a very good hotel.
4 out of 5
by Lawrence

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
I'm never disappointed with Hotel Helka. Obviously it doesn't have the luxury of a 5 star hotel but a very nice place to stay. One negative thing is that the restaurant doesn't currently provide food in the evening (it used to be very good). Hopefully this will be brought back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2017 on Hotels
Hallway wreaked of construction...not fun...very tiny room
5 out of 5
by Claudio

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good choice: save you some $ off central location

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
Nice, clean and quiet. Value for money with breakfast included. Convenience: Accessible with airport shuttle and walking distance to shopping mall and high street. Sauna available on 6/F. Quiet rooms even they have on-going renovations, they have considerate work schedule.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by Simo, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. I hope you got to enjoy the sauna, the renovations you mentioned will be finished by spring 2018. Oona H. Service Manager
4 out of 5
by Trevor

Great value hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2017 on Hotels
Very efficient hotel, small rooms but with everything you need. Self check-in was easy and the breakfast was very comprehensive!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2017 by Simo, Hotel Management
Hello Trevor, I am glad you noticed our modern check-in desks, we are very proud of them. I will forward your feedback to our breakfast team as well. Best regards, Oona H. Service Manager
5 out of 5
by Stephanie

Comfy room for a good price

Posted Jul 28, 2017 on Hotels
The room was very spacious and the bed comfortable. The location was within walking distance of the national museum, rock church and other sites.