Ratings based on 1,485 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenenient location

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
Very helpful staff. Breakfast ok. TV (operated by a company in UK!) didn't work in our room, so we were upgraded to another room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and for taking time to review our property. Specially your kind words regarding our staff make me really happy and proud. I hope we have honor to serve you soon again! Kind regards, Irina Åhman Duty Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Perfect Location. Less than stellar stay.

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Staff and Breakfast.
Cons: Cleanliness. Room inspection to make sure all in working order.
Location: Amazing location. Great restaurants and transportation second to none.
As a solo traveler, sometimes it can be unnerving in a new city when you have to search high and wide for your hotel. This one was RIGHT across the street from the train station AND trams that can take you all around the city. Perfect location. The hotel has an old world charm about it. I realize it has a historical significance, but the fact I can hear the person cough next door is a real bummer. The halls also echo quite loudly so late-comers and children can affect sleeping. Just keep that in mind. The first room (I stayed two nights on separate days) had dirty sheets...when I slid my feet in there were crumbs. And there were also dark hairs everywhere on the comforter which, being platinum blonde, I knew they were not mine. The room overall was perfect for just me. The second night I had to pay more for a larger room because it was a last minute decision and it was bigger but the heat didn't work (they brought me a portable space heater) and the shower door was broken; as was the phone. Not huge deals but just didn't dress up the place much as far as inspection was concerned. I certainly LOVED the breakfast. Fantastic and fresh spread of things. Make sure you pay the extra for it! The staff was fantastic and helped me with some details about getting around town. Overall, good stay. Not great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2017 by Irina Åhman / Duty Manager, Hotel Management
Dear K, Thank you for choosing Hotelli Seurahuone Helsinki and for taking time to review our property. Special thanks for your detailed comments, I am sure they will help us to be even better in future. And thank you also for your kind words regarding our staff. I want to forward my deepest apologize about all inconvience you needed to face during your stay. Hopefully we have honor to serve you soon again and make your next stay not only good but great!
4 out of 5
by Nadene

Great location and friendly staff

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
Great location Close to train and trams
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Nadene, Thank you for staying with us. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we will have an honor to serve you soon again. Best Regards, Nina Karlstedt Hotel Manager Hotelli Seurahuone Helsinki
4 out of 5
by Jennifer

Convenient Hotel

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
The area was a great area to stay in. The hotel was what we expected
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jennifer, Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to review our hotel.I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we will see you soon again. Happy New Year 2017! Best Regards, Nina Karlstedt Hotel Manager Hotelli Seurahuone Helsinki
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Orbitz
Friendly staff, convenient location. We liked the historic aspect of the hotel. Bathroom looks a bit out of place as the decor is 'newer' but doesn't match the Art Deco style. Breakfast was good!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2016 by Elina, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that our central location suited you so well and I'm especially glad that our staff was able to exceed your expectations. We hope to see you soon again at Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki! Best regards, Elina Mattila Duty Manager Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
Not so good. Hotel is very old and need to upgrade.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dea guest, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that our hotel didn't exceed your expectations, hopefully we will still have an honour to welcome you as our guest in the future as well. Best regards, Elina Mattila Duty Manager Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
Great place to stay close to everything and central would recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you so much for your positive review. I am truly glad to hear that you had such a nice stay, we hope to see you soon again! Best regards, Elina Mattila Duty Manager Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The staffs are not helpful!

Posted Dec 23, 2016
The front desk manager didn't listen to the customer requests.......disappointed And the brackfest nothing to eat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by Elina, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your review. I am truly sorry to hear that our staff wasn't helpful during your stay, I will definitely look into this since it is very important for us to have good customer service. We hope we will still have an honour to welcome you as our guest in the future as well. Best regards, Elina Mattila Duty Manager Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Outstanding location but average hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Location, Old look
Cons: A lot - interiors, rooms, toilets, common areas, check in.
Location: 5 mins walk from Helsinki central train station, 0 mins from the main shopping district
This hotel is a stone throwaway from the Helsinki Central Train station. We just walked out and walked in carrying our luggage. They have a small check-in counter which was overcrowded so it took us a while to get into the room. The hotel is quite old and worn out. However, the location is to kill for. It's smack in the middle of all the main shopping areas, superstore and restaurants. There were just too many options. We only stayed for a couple of days and the location proved to be super convenient. Don't expect much from the hotel, and lock it in if you are spending a couple of days only.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Elina, Hotel Management
Dear Rohit, thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that our central location suited you so well - we are truly located in the heart of Helsinki and right next to all the biggest attractions. I'm also glad that you enjoyed our historical look. We hope to have the honour to welcome you as our guest in the future as well. Best regards, Elina Mattila Duty Manager Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Classic hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Great location for transportation and shopping. Verygood breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by Nina, Hotel Management
Dear Jeffrey, Thank you for staying with us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we will see you soon again. Best Regards, Nina Karlstedt Hotel Manager Hotelli Seurahuone Helsinki