Ratings based on 268 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Hotel near to amenities

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Convenient location with lots of gift shops and food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Love the staff, and location , I stay here all the time
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sokos Original, Helsinki, Finland

Sokos

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
location and sauna on 9th floor with roof walkout get five stars. I was surprised that I had to pay 8 euros per day for the gym next to Memphis. The gym is small and terrible, and it is not worth the money. The showerhead in the shower only shoots strait 90 degrees in your face and at the door. can't adjust down at all. room is clean but second floor has a meeting/conference room next to me. if you are jet lagged and trying to sleep, it was very loud many hours in the morning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not inexpensive and showing some wear

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
Compared to other hotels in the downtown area, the Sokos hotel rates were not completely unreasonable, and the room did come with a very nice breakfast. But the rate was still much higher than I would normally pay. But, I needed to be downtown, so I chose to stay there. The hotel itself was nice enough, except that the room was quite small and the tub in the bathroom was badly chipped.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not very spectacular

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
I was so disappointed in this hotel. The only positive I can say was its location. Free breakfast became a free for all with Asian tour groups. The beds were incredibly uncomfortable. I have slept on sofas and futons that were more comfortable. The bathroom was in need of an update - chipped tile, cracked sink, water that leaked from the shower making the floor dangerous. The room even lacked a hot water pot for tea or coffee. Really? This room would have been styling in the old days before or just after the collapse of the Soviet Union when those lucky enough to leave would have found the accommodations wonderful. Unfortunately, there are better hotels in Helsinki both for value and for comfort. I won't be staying at any Original Sokos brand hotels again.
5 out of 5
by Kevin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Ma from HK

Good deal in Helsinki

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable, clean and please with the room size
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Very nice hotel in City Center

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Pros: It is an older hotel that has been very well maintained but keeps its character.
Location: The hotel is located near many restaurants, bars, shops and activities. It is in walking distance to the south harbor and the City Market.
The hotel is located about 2 blocks from the train station so we were able to take the train from the airport and walk a short distance to the hotel. We enjoyed our stay in the hotel. The beds were comfortable They have an excellent breakfast buffet included in the cost of the room - no extra charge. The sauna was nice too. The City transportation system including trains, trams and buses were a short walk away. A rental car is not needed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok place nothing more

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is what you expect in Nordics - basic small room - smallest bathroom with only shower/toilet in a closet size room so not much confort - everything works, clean ok, but ...no glamour here
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location good, otherwise basic

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was good, easy to get everywhere.
Cons: Very basic, no kettle, small room, needs a refurb.
Unbeatable location in shopping area, close to station, sights, shops, Stockmann and harbour. Basic hotel though, small rooms, a bit shabby, no kettle etc.