Ratings based on 1,006 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Ideal location in centre of Helsinki

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: The first class location and excellent buffet.
Cons: The hotel is looking a bit dated but is undergoing renorvation.
Location: See above comments.
We particularly enjoyed having a room overlooking the main square where all life was before us. Good shopping facilities all nearby. We had an interesting programme each day with excellent walks in the sunshine. A strolle along the Esplanaden is always memorable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Central Helsinki Location

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Great staff. Great central location near Central Train and Bus Stations. Good restaurants nearby.
Location: See Above
We stayed for a total of 15 days in this hotel .It is quite acceptable as a hotel goes even when renovation is underway.
5 out of 5
by John from El Jadida

Great hotel for everything

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
I always stay here when I am in Helsinki. It's slightly fading, but this is what I like - it has soul. It's part of a chain, but doesn't feel like it. I love the excellent breakfast, the fact that the hotel is so central for restaurants, bars and sights. There are renovations going on. 100 rooms are being added, the other rooms will eventually get upgraded and the reception area is getting a makeover. I hope they stay with the spirit of the place. In any case, I'll certainly be back.
4 out of 5
by Karen from London

Will be fabulous once renovations are complete

Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent location by Kammpi. Bars and restaurants on the doorstep yet with windows closed (there is air con) room is not at all noisy. Got a room overlooking the square so nice view. Early check in on arrival day and so room was available a few hours earlier than the official check in time. Also got a free 2 hours extension to check out of the departure day. Breakfast was good and the pool and sauna were great. The hotel lobby is lovely. The bar was closed for renovations though. Hotel generally a bit tired and you can see why it is being renovated. All hotel staff were extremely polite and helpful. The room was very clean upon our arrival but on day 2 they did not clean the room. We got clean towels and the bin was emptied but that was all...beds were not made, surfaces not wiped down, used drinking glasses not changed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Great location in the Centre of the city. Good breakfast and sauna. Friendly staff members who spoke fluent English. We stayed as travelers as a part of Road Scholars Group and then for two extra days.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from JTT

Nice location near so many places

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Upon arrival I was informed that my unregistered room mate had already been given a room up at 872. So i could not have any choice but got to that room. Surprisingly the room was a bit old with toilet fixtures rusty making me not likely to get drinking water from it. The room was very warm even if outside temp was 16-20C. After two night stay I requested for a room change because the room was not cleaned properly and it was four correighdor from the elevator. The room in exchange was 698 which is much more cleaner than the 872. The night manager was very kind and compassionate to my complaints and arrange for the transfer the ff. Day. All in all the reception staff was most helpful and offered advice where to Dine and many other inquiries. The check out was brief and easy. Breakfast was very good amiunt of choices.
5 out of 5
by Tina from Glendale

Original Sokos Hotel Review

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to answer tourist type of questions. They helped print walking maps for us.
5 out of 5
by Roberta from Eveleth, MN (USA)

Great place to stay in Helsinki

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
I've stayed there several times - staff is friendly, breakfast substational and located in very large room
4 out of 5
by Feidhlim from Dublin

Posted Mar 15, 2016 on Hotels
Despite being a little bit dated, the hotel is still nice and some renovations appear to be happening. My room was spacious and comfortable. Good variety on offer for breakfast. Only thing missing from the bar was option to watch football as they don't have a satellite subscription. Other sports are shown if on cable TV. For such a big hotel and group, I think this should be considered. I would have stayed there and dined but instead had to head out to a sports bar. Minor detail but it's those little things that make it more comfortable.
1 out of 5
by seasoned traveller

2* disaster

Posted Dec 30, 2015 on Hotels
dated hotel, lazy house keeping, drunkcards and junkies create disturbance