Ratings based on 415 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Henri

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by ANTTI

Excellent location but a little bit dated property

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
As a 60-plus-year-old hotel, Vaakuna is a Helsinki staple. Its location is unbeatable location and, all in all, it's a nice hotel. The lobby is small as are some of the guest rooms (I've stayed in two). On my first stay the breakfast room and the spread were amazing but on this most recent stay the experience was mediocre at best due to some renovations that are happening on the 10th floor. The rooftop terrace is pretty cool (figuratively and - in December - literally)! Although the second stay wasn't quite as good as the first one, I'll still consider staying there in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location but everything else is average

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
I booked a family room which turns out to be small if you use the sofa bed too. There is hardly enough space to walk and open up your luggage. The room does not come with any complimentary coffee/tea or bottled water. Bathroom amenities are just basic body/hair shampoo and a few packs of body lotion. I would equate the condition of the room and what's available in the room to motel standard.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient and clean. breakfast superb

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
location is good and staff are friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
The view of the city was nice, and I enjoyed watching the sun rise and set from the balcony. The staff was very friendly and provided breakfast at 4:30am. I was very impressed that they offered it. The lifts are very small and fit only 2 persons with bags at one time. The heating was not great so the room was a little bit cold. Also, there may be a bar upstairs or nearby as loud bass music played all night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location but attitude issue in Reception

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
Self-service storage room is not really secured as there is no lock for grouping luggage. Anyone can go in as it's easy to take the access card from reception. The attitude of a man whose seems the reception head is not polite as he asked me to 'WAIT". I had to wait a long time to cancel the credit payment due to processing error. I can use other credit card until it's cancelled.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mont

1952 Classic

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Marvelous hotel. Great location. Breakfast buffet very delicious. Awesome views. Convenient to everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, Ohio, USA

Great design aesthetic and next to train station

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Design of building and room furniture, convenient location, balcony
Cons: Towels a bit thin, seems typical of Finnish hotels
Location: Next to train station, close to shopping and many points of interest
I had a single room on the ninth floor with a balcony overlooking the train station. I chose the hotel for its proximity to the station for one night between arrival by plane and train trip to a city further inland. Location was fantastic, right in heart of the city. LOVE the Scandinavian design aesthetic in the architecture of the building, the first several floors of which are an upscale department store, as well as the furnishings of the lobby and room. Rooms a bit small by American standards (with one single bed, a desk, side chair with table, mini fridge, closet) but perfect for me: comfortable and so efficient. Balcony had table and two chairs and allowed smoking. Buffet breakfast was very nice. I didn't stay long enough to try the sauna or other hotel amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St catharines On Canada

Very central. Close to many shops, attractions.

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Great place to stay in Helsinki. Very clean. Friendly staff. We had an awsome view from our window.