Ratings based on 1,447 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Good for overnight airport stay

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: Front desk staff professional, friendly, and informative.
Cons: Room pricing is high but this is a chronic situation all over Finland, it seems. But for convenient airport and train connections it is worth it.
Location: No more than a 10 minute ride to the airport. Came in late at night and left early the next morning, so no comments about nearby things to do.
Stayed here one night after arriving from Poland and catching a train to an eastern Finnish city the next morning. Very convenient for an overnight stay and to take the train.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Handy for airport

Posted Oct 22, 2017
I been in Helsinki for a few weeks and had a very early flight so stayed here the night prior. I arrived at 1pm and was informed I could not check-in and pointed towards the restaurant for lunch, which I did. However I then noted that they allowed other guests to check-in, and were not encouraged to go and purchase lunch, which I was not pleased with. Apart from this, the hotel is perfectly adequate for somewhere to stay close to the airport, and there is a free shuttle which is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston ma.

Close to airport

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Nice front desk people. Food was excellent. Very close to airport,mall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Standard airport hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Although airport is in the name, it does take a while to get to this hotel from the airport. There is a free bus that picks up every 1/2 hour from the Helsinki airport to bring you to the Holiday Inn and a couple other hotels. The same bus brings you back to the airport, so that is convenient. The hotel really isn't very close to any restaurants or other attractions so don't plan to walk to things once you arrive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Milla N. / Front Desk / Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vanta, Hotel Management
Dear Carol, Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again next time! Sincerely, Milla N. / Front Desk / Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Nothing - well, the maid was so nice, I liked her.
Cons: Be nice, would be my advice. That goes a long way.
Location: No way into town, aside from going back to the airport. Bluch. Not nice.
The reception was not friendly, the bathroom smelled (the maid sent to fix it was very nice and solved the problem, trying different types of cleaner - it needed bleach down the drains) The shuttle service doesn't run between 12-2 on Sundays. It amazes me that right after checkout there should be a hiatus like this - thank God I discovered it in time, or I would have needed to take a taxi, since there is no other near public transportation.
3 out of 5
by James

Frustrated.

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
The room was clean and functional and OK for an overnight stay while in transit. Before we left, I could get no information on how to catch the shuttle to the hotel from the airport. I tried Holiday Inn international and Hotels.com. Had to take an expensive taxi. I later learned that you had to walk to the area where hotel buses arrive. There is one that goes to a variety of hotels. The only breakfast they offered was a full buffet. We decided to skip it and wait for lunch, but then they closed the restaurant for the day. Frustrating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

When is a king bed not a king bed?

Posted Aug 17, 2017
We book hotels with A ing bed as a priority. We chose this Holiday Inn as a king bed was listed for this reservation. Alas on arrival we asked if it was a king bed and was told it wasn't. It was essentially 2 twins placed together. Though adequate, it was not what we booked. This has happened before outsids the US and is generally attributed to different standards in bed size. Expedia should really know better as it deals globally. At this point, It's not clear at booking time what we're going to get regardless of what is promise. The staff were not that helpful in explaining the discrepancy even when "king bed" was pointed out on the paperwork. A room with true king bed would be an extra third again on price.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Airport hotel so convenient.

Posted Aug 8, 2017
We had to overnight for an early morning connection. The regular shuttle buses from stand 21 at Helsinki airport was excellent. If you time, take a train express from the airport to the city - it only takes 20 minutes and have dinner at many of the city's restaurants. The room was clean. I will stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels