Ratings based on 1,429 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston ma.

Close to airport

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Nice front desk people. Food was excellent. Very close to airport,mall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Standard airport hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Although airport is in the name, it does take a while to get to this hotel from the airport. There is a free bus that picks up every 1/2 hour from the Helsinki airport to bring you to the Holiday Inn and a couple other hotels. The same bus brings you back to the airport, so that is convenient. The hotel really isn't very close to any restaurants or other attractions so don't plan to walk to things once you arrive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Milla N. / Front Desk / Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vanta, Hotel Management
Dear Carol, Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again next time! Sincerely, Milla N. / Front Desk / Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Nothing - well, the maid was so nice, I liked her.
Cons: Be nice, would be my advice. That goes a long way.
Location: No way into town, aside from going back to the airport. Bluch. Not nice.
The reception was not friendly, the bathroom smelled (the maid sent to fix it was very nice and solved the problem, trying different types of cleaner - it needed bleach down the drains) The shuttle service doesn't run between 12-2 on Sundays. It amazes me that right after checkout there should be a hiatus like this - thank God I discovered it in time, or I would have needed to take a taxi, since there is no other near public transportation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

When is a king bed not a king bed?

Posted Aug 17, 2017
We book hotels with A ing bed as a priority. We chose this Holiday Inn as a king bed was listed for this reservation. Alas on arrival we asked if it was a king bed and was told it wasn't. It was essentially 2 twins placed together. Though adequate, it was not what we booked. This has happened before outsids the US and is generally attributed to different standards in bed size. Expedia should really know better as it deals globally. At this point, It's not clear at booking time what we're going to get regardless of what is promise. The staff were not that helpful in explaining the discrepancy even when "king bed" was pointed out on the paperwork. A room with true king bed would be an extra third again on price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Airport hotel so convenient.

Posted Aug 8, 2017
We had to overnight for an early morning connection. The regular shuttle buses from stand 21 at Helsinki airport was excellent. If you time, take a train express from the airport to the city - it only takes 20 minutes and have dinner at many of the city's restaurants. The room was clean. I will stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina USA

Great airport hotel!

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: Convenience to HEL and friendly helpful staff.
Cons: The food seemed expensive but is probably on par with the area.
Location: It's in an office park near the airport with little to do within walking distance.
I had an 18 hour layover at HEL after an exhausting 14 days visiting friends in Russia. As I stepped out of the terminal there was the free bus right by the exit. A 10 minute ride took me to the most friendly reception desk I have encountered. It was late but I had a very good hamburger and beer in the restaurant and another beer in the bar. Then it was off to bed for 10 hours and back to the shuttle the next morning. For my needs it was perfect. If I had a little more time, I'm sure the sauna would have been a treat!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017 by Eini, Reception, Hotel Management
Dear Larry, Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am glad you had a pleasant and positive stay with us. I am happy to hear you liked our free shuttle bus service, restaurant and hotel. I wish you warmly back to Holiday Inn Helsinki - Vantaa Airport!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

nice hotel closer to the airport.

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: fast check in and checked out.
Cons: need to keep the carpet more clean. specially on the lobby.
I like the bus shutter pick up from the airports or transport to the air port.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location close to airport and my work

Posted Jul 12, 2017
it was good overall , however 1- The room cleaner was not putting the water and chocolate ( which is free for executive ) in the room daily as normal , only she put it one or two times 2- The check is was not before 3:00 pm and this is too late
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Good overnight stay for airport

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Small room. Good breakfast and access to sauna. Free shuttle to airport. Staff very pleasant and helpful