Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Room tired and worn - wallpaper peeling from damp wall, lighting poor and bulbs blown - carpeting dirty around room and hallways. Parking good - and breakfast experiences excellent, but the room was a real spoiler. I believe that a quick refurb is overdue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Surprisingly good given the price

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Well sited on the outskirts of Hemel - good access to travel routes.
Cons: Decoration in conservatory restaurant could do with a bit of a 'freshen up'.
Used as a stop-over on a Saturday night. Staff very pleasant and friendly. Room spacious, clean and with a good sized bathroom. Free-standing bath was a nice feature - good and powerful shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from YORK

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: CLEAN AND PLEASANT STAFF
Cons: RESTAURANT TO OPEN EVEN WHEN YOU HAVE WEDDING RECEPTIONS
Location: VERY CLOSE TO BERKHAMSTEAD WHICH IS WHAT WE NEEDED
ALTHOUGH THE RESTAURANT DID NOT OPEN ON THE FRI/ SAT/ AND SUNDAY EVENINGS WHEN WE VISITED WE FOUND A LOVELY RESTAURANT (THE FISHERY) VERY NEAR BY ,WHICH IS SITUATED BY THE CANAL
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, close to train station

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Very helpful staff, very welcoming and great location.
Cons: Real coffee at breakfast please. The option of a sheet rather than a heavy duvet on the bed.
I had a lovely one night stay. I was on the ground floor but the large window did not close properly so I did feel a little vulnerable - I have been watching too many crime dramas! The very modern bathroom was wonderful, great bath and shower and heated floor. The bedroom was a little tired in comparison to the bathroom but had everything I needed including a fan, iron and ironing board. My only criticism would be that the pillow and duvet could have been a little more comfy, perhaps having the option of just a sheet rather than a heavy duvet would be good when we do have hot weather.
4 out of 5
by Catherine

Very good motel

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
Check in was very good. Room more motel than photos indicate. Breakfast very good. Staff very helpful & friendly. Location was why we chose the property, near Hamel Hempstead & the train station.
4 out of 5
by David

Stayed for Warner Studios tour weekend

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
A little tired but excellent restaurant for an evening meal and a good breakfast. Service was friendly and very helpful. Would use again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

A great place to stay

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Location: This hotel is the closest we could find to Drift Limits, where we went for a supercar driving experience.
We had a great two-night stay at Boxmoor Lodge. The room was beautiful and well-maintained, with a king size bed and a sofa. We often find that hotels have a single comfy chair and a desk chair meaning we have to negotiate over who gets which, so being able to sit on a sofa together was a treat! The only downside was that the TV was positioned such that you couldn't see it from either the sofa or the bed (it was a four poster and the posts got in the way). As we weren't planning to watch TV this didn't bother us particularly, but it was a bit odd! The bathroom was large with both a walk in shower and a roll top bath. Breakfasts were good and we had an excellent dinner there on the Friday night. All the staff from front-of-house to the cleaners were extremely helpful and very friendly. The hotel is positioned close to a major road so if you open the windows you can hear a gentle hum of traffic. This wasn't enough to disturb us but if you are seeking a peaceful rural idyll you may be disappointed. But it's the (small) price you pay for a convenient location within walking distance of the station and the town centre.
5 out of 5
by ger

Great holiday

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
It was lovely the people were really nice and could not do enough for us thanks
4 out of 5
by TERRY

Business trip

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Quite expensive in comparison, both for room (£110) and wine (£7). Convenient for station and food good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

All Round Good Hotel

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Spacious, clean room with good food.
Cons: For those with a sweet tooth the lack of a dessert menu in the restaurant could be a disappointment.
Location: Housed in a semi rural area so taking an evening stroll was convenient
The hotel is situated in a pleasant, quiet location which is conveniently only a few minutes walk to a railway station with a 30 minute ride into central London. All the staff were friendly & helpful and I enjoyed a nice evening meal in the restaurant & a couple of drinks in the adjoined bar. Competitively priced & the breakfast was freshly cooked rather than being served off a hot plate.