Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poole

Friendly cosy pub in a lovely old town

Posted Dec 8, 2016
I was given a friendly greeting when I arrived and shown to my room, which although fairly small, was clean and welcoming with a good sized en-suite with a very useful big walk-in shower. On my return from a meal with friends nearby, I had a pleasant nightcap at the bar then had a good nights sleep in a comfy bed in a quiet room with good air-con. Breakfast was really good and a very good choice served very cheerfully and promptly. When I'm up this way again I shall definitely return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hertfordshire

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: warm and friendly
very welcoming and friendly, nice food, nice atmosphere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Isle of Wight

Nearby Cochin Restaurant

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Pleasant and friendly/helpful staff. Great breakfast
Cons: Not a lot of choice re restaurant. Prefer bath to shower - personnel choice
Location: Ideal location for motorways etc and plenty of restaurants in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Convenient hotel for the Old Town.

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Friendly staff made for a pleasant stay. Changes to decor since my last stay have improved the ambience and clientele.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from liverpool

Just a night away

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: size of room
Cons: some parts of decor needed improvement
Location: did not look for things to do
Room was spacious & clean decor needed some attention Breakfast was ample
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oswestry

Overnight stay before funeral

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Friendly,clean, and helpful
Cons: Car park
From the moment we arrived the staff went out their way to accommodate our every need, they were very helpful in all ways, from Caroline who booked us in and showed us our room,Elliot the manager and the lady at breakfast,nothing was too much trouble. We were allowed a later check out so that we could change. The breakfast was freshly cooked to order and excellent.I would certainly stay here again, the room was small but adequate,v.clean and the bed really comfortable.Car park v.small with room for only 5 or 6 cars at a push.If all guests had a car some would have to use the public car park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel, friendly staff and clean rooms.

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: The staff very friendly
Cons: Nothing
Location: Good location with plenty of pubs and restaurants within walking distance
Would definitely recommend this hotel. Located in the old town of Hemel Hempstead and with plenty of facilities close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seaton sluice

Lovely hotel in centre of town

Posted Jul 31, 2016
From the minute we entered the hotel the owner and his staff were very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are really modern and comfortable with lovely white towels and nice bedding. The cooked breakfast was excellent. We would definitely recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Mixed bag

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Location and charm.
Cons: Pretty much listed it all in my description - much needed improvement.
Location: Charming town with lovely High Street, but offers little in the way of decent restaurants or nice shops.
We were first placed in a room that was over-priced for 100 euros a night: tiny room, inadequate facilities, horribly moldy shower, empty hand soap dispenser, no shampoo, limited storage for a room with such minimal floor space. "Free Internet" here was completely inadequate and mostly non-functional. They did not provide their own account, from what I understood, they gave access to a provider who offered free internet in the town. To use it you had to provide the service with much personal information. Then the internet did not work 98% of the time, and when it did, it was bare minimum coverage. This was deceiving and really unacceptable. The breakfast was okay, but they had no menu and offered no fruit unless you made a special request. No alternatives to cow milk unless you request it, then they can get it for the next day, so if you need it, ask in advance. It would not be hard for them to do better in this regard. When we complained about the internet the guy in charge shrugged. When we complained about the mold, we were moved to a larger and very pleasant room, which we presume was much more expensive. Still, for no apparent reason there was only one bedside table and lamp - this should be corrected. The bathtub panel was falling off. Both rooms were noisy. Upshot - this place has charm and is well-situated. The management needs to do their maintenance, provide adequate internet, and charge appropriately for the rooms. Diversify the breakfast menu as w
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth

Fantastic hotel in Hemel's old town!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Lovely hotel in Hemel's old town which means it's quieter and a bit nicer. Hotel itself was awesome, great staff, great food (make sure you have dinner there, food was incredibly cheap and of great quality, was pleasantly surprised!), very comfortable. Will be back!