Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Terrible staff at check in excellent at breakfast.

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: shower
Cons: The reception / check in person and watch out for the small step at the entrance to room 5, got me about 3 times
Location: excallent location of you like Indian food
I was greeted with a very lacklustre young lady behind the bar who was clearly in a bad mood. After a couple of enquiries about WIFI and Parking, neither of which were offered to me, I asked her if she had considered a career working in another direction.as she was clearly not cut out for dealing with people, The room was good and comfortable wifi worked wonderfully and had a really big shower cubicle. The lady at breakfast was wonderful and check out was excellent, I couldnt believe the differance..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: The staff were very nice, polite, friendly, chatty.
Cons: More attention to detail for bedsheets etc. Proper shower provisions. Washing the mugs. Beds that don't squeak. Sound barriers.
Staff were great but everything was dirty, including dried blood stain on bed sheet, mugs hadn't been washed properly. No/very little hot water & almost no water pressure. Very noisy, woken up by other guests approx 4 times during the night. Water stains from damp issues on the carpet. Bed was squeaky & uncomfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

tiny room, overprices

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
the coldest room I have ever stayed in, cold drafts from floor and windows, the room was 9m2, tiny, tiny, lots of cracks
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient and clean hotel

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here as it was most convenient for meeting relatives. The room was good and we had a nice meal. Breakfast was filling and tasty. The only problem we had was finding the hotel carpark although the manager did put it in my satnav. There is a one way system past the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poole

Friendly cosy pub in a lovely old town

Posted Dec 8, 2016
I was given a friendly greeting when I arrived and shown to my room, which although fairly small, was clean and welcoming with a good sized en-suite with a very useful big walk-in shower. On my return from a meal with friends nearby, I had a pleasant nightcap at the bar then had a good nights sleep in a comfy bed in a quiet room with good air-con. Breakfast was really good and a very good choice served very cheerfully and promptly. When I'm up this way again I shall definitely return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hertfordshire

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: warm and friendly
very welcoming and friendly, nice food, nice atmosphere.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid !

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely awful. In fact we didn`t stay as the wardrobe smelled of damp and there were damp marks, the toilet needed cleaning, the shower had mould on the tiles, one of the floor tiles in the bathroom was coming up, the room was small, the bed was small and a poor mattress and a bulb was needed in a bedside lamp. At least we got a full refund ! I do have photos of the problems but not that anyone will want to see !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
Very enjoyable stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Character & Charm

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
The Landlord and staff made us feel very at home - a lovely ambiance and very cosy